PDA

View Full Version : Starting the client



PY 222
10-13-2005, 02:29 PM
Ok, just registered and downloaded the client. A couple of questions though.

I am currently running the Linux version of BOINC and am running it using the command line, without any GUI. So I started the client using the following:

./boinc -attach_project http://boinc.bakerlab.org/rosetta <my key>

Question, how can I stop the client nicely? Ctrl - C?

Once I stop the client, how do I restart it? Must I restart BOINC using the same string:

./boinc -attach_project http://boinc.bakerlab.org/rosetta <my key>

or

./boinc

is good as my key will be saved in some file that will get read once BOINC starts.

I am a bit overwhelmed with all the functionalities that BOINC offer. :help:

rshepard
10-13-2005, 02:38 PM
CTRL-C will stop it ok.

./boinc will start it up after you've attached the first time.

./boinc -allow_remote_gui_rpc will let you monitor it with a third party package like BoincView

Bok
10-13-2005, 03:13 PM
Correct,

PY, I presume you are using the standard boinc package too 4.43 ?

You may be better off using some optimized clients as well. I can load up a P4 and Athlon version. You just drop them in the same directory and use..

AMD Client (http://stats.free-dc.org/boincAMD_472)

P4 Client (http://stats.free-dc.org/boincP4_444)

Might want to do a right-click, save-as

The AMD one is based on the 4.72 tree, whilst the P4 one is only 4.44 (thought I had a 4.72 but I'll compile it later)..

You will benchmark higher with these clients as they are compiled with optimizer flags

Bok

PCZ
10-13-2005, 03:35 PM
Does this mean we are all going to get stomped :jester:

PY

Use the optimised clients if you can.
linux benchmarks very low compared to windows and the optimised clients go some way towards correcting this.

Also you really need boincview to monitor your boxes.

If you create a file called remote_hosts.cfg in the boinc directory on your crunchers remote control will be enabled.

The remote_hosts.cfg file need only contain the ip address of the box you have boincview running on.

PY 222
10-13-2005, 03:38 PM
Thanks Bok. I'll look into once I am more comfortable with BOINC.

PCZ, no... no stomping yet. It'll take a while before I can deploy BOINC on a large scale.

Also guys, I've been looking at my client for about 1 hour now and its not going anymore. Its stopped at:

debian:/BOINC# ./boinc
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] Starting BOINC client version 4.43 for i686-pc-linux-gnu
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] Data directory: /BOINC
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [rosetta@home] Computer ID: 20248; location: work; project prefs: default
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] General prefs: from rosetta@home (last modified 2005-10-13 11:28:07)
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] General prefs: no separate prefs for work; using your defaults
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] get_local_network_info(): gethostbyname failed
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] get_local_network_info(): gethostbyname failed
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] Remote control not allowed; using loopback address
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [rosetta@home] Resuming computation for result 1bmbA_abrelax_34479_0 using rosetta version 4.77
2005-10-13 09:02:37 [---] schedule_cpus: must schedule


Is this normal?

rshepard
10-13-2005, 03:41 PM
looks normal- most of the projects don't output to the commandline during the calculations-- CPDN being an exception--so you won't see anything further for a bit. You should be able to see the client running in top though.

Bok
10-13-2005, 03:44 PM
Rosetta doesn't checkpoint much so you don't see much in the output.

Does 'top' show it running ?

Or use boincview to check it.

Bok

p.s. gethostbyname failed ? I get that on one of my Gentoo boxes too, I've not been able to fix it for some reason that kinda bothers me. Tried all the obvious things :bang:

PY 222
10-13-2005, 03:47 PM
Thanks guys. Yes "rosetta_4.77_i6" process is running in top.

So I will wait a while and come back to check on it.

Bok, I think the reason why I get the "gethostbyname failed" errror is I believe due to my hostname. Its just set to Debian and nothing more.

So, is your hostname FQDN?

PCZ
10-13-2005, 04:01 PM
Your hostname doesn't have to be FQDN but it does need to be in the hosts file.

edit etc/hosts and add your system name and ip.

Bok
10-13-2005, 04:07 PM
nope, tried all that, still get it, just on the one box...it's not just boinc that gets it, any call to gethostbyname gives it.

I thought about getting out my rusty 'C' skills and seeing if I could track it down..

/shrug

Bok

p.s. I actually think it's because there are some firewall rules specific for this box (it's a remote) I have some NAT for ssh getting to it which is beyond my control. I had to set up squid on another box there and use the proxy to get to any of the boinc projects as it is.

PY 222
10-13-2005, 08:37 PM
Thanks guys. My first Rosetta BOINC client has just sent in results. WOOT! :cheers:

PCZ and Bok, how do you guys deploy this on your pharms? Do you have a script that you all use?

PY 222
10-13-2005, 08:58 PM
Originally posted by Bok
Correct,

PY, I presume you are using the standard boinc package too 4.43 ?

You may be better off using some optimized clients as well. I can load up a P4 and Athlon version. You just drop them in the same directory and use..

AMD Client (http://stats.free-dc.org/boincAMD_472)

P4 Client (http://stats.free-dc.org/boincP4_444)

Might want to do a right-click, save-as

The AMD one is based on the 4.72 tree, whilst the P4 one is only 4.44 (thought I had a 4.72 but I'll compile it later)..

You will benchmark higher with these clients as they are compiled with optimizer flags

Bok


Bok, I tried playing around with your client and this is what it says:

debian:/BOINC# ./boincP4_444
./boincP4_444: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.3' not found (required by ./boincP4_444)


Guess, I won't be able to use your optimized client. I only have glibc2.2.

Bok
10-13-2005, 09:01 PM
I have public keys set up to all my boxen, so it's fairly simple

copy the install package over..

then something like

ssh user@machine "cd BOINC;nohup ./boinc -attach project key &"

With Boincview you can do all of the attach/detach/disable/enable remotely from one place.

Bok :)

PY 222
10-13-2005, 09:09 PM
Thanks Bok. I personally prefer screen myself as compared to nohup. Are there any advantages to nohup as compared to screen?

Also, thanks for your input on how you deploy your pharm. Our setups are rather different and therefore your way isn't possible in my environment. But thanks for the idea.

Boincview looks great. I'll definitely look into it.

Bok
10-13-2005, 09:17 PM
nope,

I actually use screen too once deployed, but it's not as quick for deploying :)

Bok

Bok
10-13-2005, 09:19 PM
Originally posted by PY 222
Bok, I tried playing around with your client and this is what it says:

debian:/BOINC# ./boincP4_444
./boincP4_444: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.3' not found (required by ./boincP4_444)


Guess, I won't be able to use your optimized client. I only have glibc2.2.

2.4 kernel ? I could do an athlon version, but I don't have any P4's still at 2.4 anywhere.

hmm, can you compile on your box ? It's fairly trivial to do it...

see here (http://home.arcor.de/akimalahey/html/compiling.html)

Bok