PDA

View Full Version : WinXP login

LAURENU2
01-05-2006, 04:16 PM
I am new to XP And it is to say a little confuseing right now :umm:
And some of my Pharm is headless so it would be nice if the headless nodes could reboot without the need for a password

So Is there a way to start Win XP without haveing to imput a
pasword and Just go right to the desktop?

Shish
01-05-2006, 04:26 PM
You need controluserpasswords2 which is the older version of logon and allows you to set auto logon easier than with XP s normal one.
Just do a google for it and there`s plenty of sites have it.

PCZ
01-05-2006, 05:03 PM
Lauren use this

Unzip and double click the reg file then look in Control Panel

BTW
I hope on your headless crunchers you are enabling remote desktop.
Control Panel System Remote Tab.
Put a tick in remote desktop, apply, ignore the nagging from windows and reboot.

To control a remote node
Programs, Accessories, Communications, remote desktop.

To reboot a remote node without logging in use the following command:
shutdown -r -f -m \\node name
you can also use IP address instead of node name.

BTW
The above command only works if the user executing it is a valid user on the remote box.
So be consistent with usernames and passwords.

LAURENU2
01-05-2006, 09:39 PM
Thanks PCZ That file was hard to find:cheers:
I have not done the upgrade to the headless ones yet
I figured I should get the reboot figured out first
OK lets see if I got it right.
Computer names are not important like tester1 , tester2 , tester3 Etc
But I should put lauren as the user on that PC and all other headless PC's
And also use the same password all nodes to ?
I hope I got that right.
One last question what about the Firewall that is now built into XP
Should I turn it off?

PCZ
01-05-2006, 10:08 PM
Should i turn off the Firewall ?
If your machines have private IP's yes.
If you have Public IP's no

Do you have a router that does nat ?
Are your IP's 192.168.xxx.xxx IE: Private ?