PDA

View Full Version : Speed

Chinasaur
07-23-2002, 09:03 PM
Remember to edit your foldit bat file to include "-rt" without the quotes if you have the RAM available. This client on will go twice as fast by using RAM as ...well.. a RAM disk :)

It may use up to 150MB of RAM per running instance. I went from 4.7% to 22% RAM usage on my boxes with 512MB.

Crunch on!!!

:cheers:

IronBits
07-23-2002, 09:19 PM
All but one proc, this server, are running with the -rt switch. :D

bwkaz
07-24-2002, 08:06 AM
:eek:

Holy cow, it is about twice as fast! Not that I seriously doubted it, but it still surprised me. The current 138-residue protein is running faster than the last one (was it 86? 83? something like that...) was running.

:|party|: :|party|:

Slo
07-24-2002, 01:31 PM
Hello...

I'm new to all this... I just received the new update... I installed the 1.7 dfgui... Where do I install the -rt ??? I can not find the foldit.bat file??? Also if you lead me to the file please descript where exactly to install th -rt...

I have windows xp home and I downloaded the text version...

Thanks,

Slo...

magnav0x
07-24-2002, 03:04 PM
either this new protien is doing it or the -rt is doing it...but after a while the client will just cease to crunch at all.

KWSN_Millennium2001Guy
07-24-2002, 03:07 PM
Are you sure that the client isn't just "backtracking" and working on a low-energy value? I had a machine look like it stopped working, but after it finally finished (progress.txt didn't update for over 4 hours) and uploaded I had a new low energy protein.

Just a possibility.

Ni!

ColinT
07-24-2002, 03:34 PM
I haven't been following Df lately. Is there a a new client ? When did it come out? Should I open foldit bat in a text editor and put -rt someplace? Or add the -rt to the shortcut like everything else?

Is there a writeup about this?

Angus
07-24-2002, 03:56 PM
Colin ...

You don't need to know... at least until I have passed you. :)