PDA

View Full Version : Linux Distro under 450MB???

matrix_fan
03-10-2004, 03:26 PM
I have my old K6-2 gutted out runnign on 64Mb ram, i need a linux distro that will run on 450MB of space. i have a 500MB HDD, so that leaves 50mb for other stuff(DC programs). Please help me, and if possible, it needs to be as easiest as possible, as i'm not that good at all with linux.........HELP ME TO GET THIS MACHINE CRUNCHIN!!!!:bonk: :bonk: :drums: :bouncy:

Darkness Productions
03-10-2004, 03:40 PM
Debian will fit, gentoo will fit, some others will fit.

matrix_fan
03-10-2004, 03:48 PM
rhmm m, i said EASY TO INSTALL, i heard gentoo is like the hardest (but fastest) out there

Bok
03-10-2004, 04:02 PM
Have a look around Isolinux (http://www.isolinux.org)

I haven't tried it but archlinux (http://www.archlinux.org) looks fairly compact..

Actually off the top of my head, I *think* if you install RH9 and choose custom, then minimal packages it's in the 400-500mb region. Somebody correct me.... if not then maybe that or even do the same with RH7 or 8 which would likely be less.

Bok

matrix_fan
03-10-2004, 04:30 PM
I'm downloading: 1st of Debian, and live-cd of gentoo, and the archlinux package (iso) :)

magicfan241
03-10-2004, 04:44 PM
I had gotten RH7.2 to fit on a 650MB HDD, along with Abiword, Printer stuff, and Dnet.

That was a while ago, and I forget what options I used to install with....

magicfan241

QIbHom
03-10-2004, 05:26 PM
If you don't install a GUI (not needed if you are just crunching with it), anything will work.

Or you could boot off knoppix (if it has a CD drive), and run your projects off the hard drive.

On my ancient laptop, which has a 200 meg hd, I use a minimal install of Libranet with XCFE as the GUI. Libranet is a piece of cake to install, and if you spring for the newest version, you can pick and choose every single package on the install. Or just do the minimal install, and apt-get what you want.

matrix_fan
03-10-2004, 07:36 PM