PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion: Personal proxy for farmers

pointwood
04-10-2002, 06:08 PM
The distributed.net project and others have this:

The possibility to host your own personal proxy. That means that all your client installations will (when configured to that of course) connect to that proxy instead of the main distributedfolding.org server.

Now, I'm not an expert in this - far from it, but I'm sure there are others here that can explain this in much greater detail.

I don't know if this is at all possible with this project, but if nobody suggests it, then you will probably not consider it ;)

Paratima
04-10-2002, 07:01 PM
I LIKE this idea! Could save us a lot of... :bang:

Maybe if we get some of the network-smart guys in here...

Like Dyyryath or IronBits or Darkness Productions, whaddaya think?

("When in doubt, shout." :) )

Starfish
04-11-2002, 04:36 PM
I like the idea, but you would like a proxy smart enough to detect that a certain phase is almost ending so that it can start uploading ;)

FoBoT
04-11-2002, 09:15 PM
what is the advantage?

Angus
04-11-2002, 10:26 PM
What FoBot said...

Is there a network/server bottleneck now? I've never seen any retries on sending since the server was upgraded.

The old saying still holds true -

If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

pointwood
04-12-2002, 02:51 AM
Some people have large farms on a network where only few machines have an internet connection.

Another idea would be to make it easier to sneakernet. Maybe it could be solved by having a little util that could harvest all the WU's from alle the other clients, create the filelist.txt and upload them?

Dyyryath
04-12-2002, 11:57 AM
Hey guys. I'm sure Howard will weigh in with his opinion here, but let me say a few words since he & I have already discussed this.

During the time when they were having lots of dropped connections & such, I made a handful of suggestions about what might be done to help combat the problem. This was one of them.