PDA

View Full Version : Significant Downtime

deranged128[OCAU]
09-07-2004, 07:28 AM
I am only new to this project, as of a few days ago, but have a question regarding some significant lost processing time that has happened for me today.

I have DHE installed onto 6 PCs, 5 of which are dedicated to the project and the other part-time as it is my main browsing/gaming setup. For the first 1.5 days the production was quite high, but today my production has dropped dramatically and upon checking task manager I find that the machines have been idle for between 8 and 11 hours each in the past 16 hours.

What would cause them to be idle for so long. Java was still running on each machine, but at varying levels of CPU utilisation (72%~98%) and varying CPU time. On one machine CPU time was still zero :eek:

They are running as services so I'm not sure where I can look for a guide as to what is happening.

I'm not happy about having my machines sitting idle (they are all my personal PCs) and if this is to be a recurring problem with the project I may start looking elsewhere.

Can anyone give me some pointers?

prokaryote
09-08-2004, 01:30 AM
The only time that I've noticed machines sitting idle is if a restart was attempted while the data server was down. Then it will poll the server about every hour until it can connect again. If it is currently crunching and it can't return a result, it should still keep on crunching.

As for the service part, I run the text client so I don't have much experience with the service portion of the code.

Usually, the most issues with the server appears to happen over the weekends when no-one is around to restart or reset them. May want to consider having a backup DC project running in the background just in case? Hope that this helps, maybe Miguel has some insights?

prok

em99010pepe
09-08-2004, 03:19 AM
Originally posted by prokaryote
If it is currently crunching and it can't return a result, it should still keep on crunching.
prok