PDA

View Full Version : Building a farm web-page

jasong
04-07-2005, 06:13 PM
I didn't know whether to post this in Suggestions or here, and I don't want to be considered a spammer, so I put it here.

Here's the thing. I have a strong desire to build a farm, but the unknowns scare the crap out of me. I know I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge, but I'm not sure I'm aware of where the gaps are located. There are plenty of places to get the information I need, but there are a ton(A TON) of dead-ends.

What I, and many other people, need, is a collaborative effort that basically says,"Hey, you have an absolutely ENORMOUS amount of stuff to learn, but this is a site helps anyone who's serious about building a farm to get the knowledge." Links, and descriptions of links, would be highly abundant, and there would be someone(I wave my hand energetically in an attempt to volunteer) who would go out and invite people to answer specific questions about what's best for their project/projects and the hobby in general. There would be information available about power supplies, wattage of specific components(including processors); basically anything you would need to know could be found, or tracked down, by going there.
I know this would take a lot of work, probably more than someone would want to volunteer, so I'd like to be the first to offer a donation to this effort: $10(more if this takes off).

I would love to see a successful site that does this, even if it's a pay site or has advertising.

LAURENU2
04-07-2005, 08:23 PM
You have nothing to fear but fear it self Just do it
Start with 2 PC's 1 server 1 client and one router or a dsl/cable gateway router if you have broadband
Wireless may not be a good choice for doing DC projects
If you do run into any problems Just post then here and I am sure you will get the answers you need

rsbriggs
04-07-2005, 09:33 PM