PDA

View Full Version : Thanks for helping out guys!



CaptainMooseInc
04-18-2009, 06:15 PM
I just wanted to send out a public thanks to sTs950, Angus, and Steve Lux for joining in the MJ-12 effort with me and PY 22!

Some of the DPC members have been upping their connections to be able to push more URLs/day. Since this is a bandwidth and not CPU intensive project, help can sometimes be rare because of Comca$t's and other ISP's usage restrictions.

Everything you guys are contributing is greatly appreciated!!! :thumbs:

IronBits
04-18-2009, 06:56 PM
:rock:

Is there anything anywhere to assist with setting up the client?
Buckets, threads, optimizations to get the most out of it etc?

How do you change your email address even?

IronBits
04-18-2009, 08:12 PM
Well, I was going to help out and going like gang busters to, but then I saw this on my screen :hair:
I'm done :cry:
(http://ironbits.net/images/trojan-threat.jpg)

PCZ
04-18-2009, 08:43 PM
IB
Thats one of the negative aspects of M12.
There are a lot of sites out there containing malicious HTML code.

It has been said thats it is OK because your not actually running the code in a browser but as you have discovered it is still risky.

M12 also scans a lot of very 'seedy' sites that i would not want to be associated with.
This was the main reason i gave up on it.

IronBits
04-18-2009, 09:09 PM
Good to know. :thumbs:
:drink:

CaptainMooseInc
04-19-2009, 02:34 AM
MJ-12 is deep scanning the entire web, just like Google has. We've found and scanned 1/2 of the known web "according to Google" without anything but users helping.

The idea that it scans shady sites is a bit misleading. It's not searching for bad stuff, it's just searching for anything. And be sure that Alex won't let questionable sites be listed (i.e. kiddie porn or things of the such).

@IB:

There is a thread for node optimization. Be very careful because, depending on your ISP, you could be facing bandwidth limitations unbeknownst to you as of yet. For some reason the main site's down (at 1:30AM my time), so I'll find that thread and post it tomorrow.

MJ-12 also doesn't execute any code from websites, so your computer is entirely safe. There's also a thread about getting Anti-Virus programs to ignore such false-positives. I'll get you both links as soon as I can. Then you can make your own decisions from there.

I've been running the node for years now (on this PC) and have yet to get a virus or piece of spyware on here from the node or any other source for that matter.

Angus
04-21-2009, 09:15 PM
Well, I decided I wasn't using enough of my available bandwidth, so I upped the number of worker thingies from 15 to 25.

8 hours later, my DSL router turned into a paperweight.:firedevil:

I don't think I'll do that again. Waiting patiently for the free replacement to arrive - should be today. Meanwhile, I've had plenty of coffee as I duck into the neighborhood cafe to borrow their wireless.

CaptainMooseInc
04-22-2009, 02:24 PM
What's your connection's max speed? I've seen MJ-12 kill routers and modems temporarily (just needed unplugged and replugged in), but never actually fry a modem. If the modem was really old or not ventilated well, it could've overheated and fried that way.

Angus
04-22-2009, 05:10 PM
It's an Actiontec M1000, provided by QWest DSL, 2 years old, 3000 down, 640 up

Nothing would bring it back - lights on, nobody home.

Replacement (same model) came right up.

The War Dept. (SWMBO) runs her business from home, so having dead internet access is a formula for domestic stress (but a good weight loss plan).

CaptainMooseInc
04-23-2009, 01:16 AM
If you'd like, you can mess with the profiles option and set it up to use more bandwidth at night and less (or none) during the day. :)

CaptainMooseInc
04-29-2009, 01:58 PM
IB, if you would please, read this thread:

http://www.majestic12.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=685&highlight=antivirus

It should clear up your AV worries.

Briancip
07-24-2017, 04:37 PM
Hi to all!. I recently changed my computer and installed operating system, and i have many issues that i wanted to resolve, but i have no idea. I used ubuntu, but i've installed windows 7 and my opinion is that that there are some issues with brandmauer. I can't use mysql channel because it's also not working and many ports are not visible to other clients from the internet. Perhaps, it is a problem with cisco, but I don't know for 100%. So what is your opinion?