PDA

View Full Version : What is best hardware for this project?



jasong
01-25-2005, 08:11 PM
Hey, I have a 2200+(1.75GHz) Sempron with 256K of cache. I originally bought it specifically for FaD, but I'm interested in branching out. How will the cache and the fact that it's AMD affect my performance?

Should I even bother with this project, considering my specs? (Or will it possibly rock at this?)

CaptainMooseInc
01-25-2005, 09:40 PM
With any Sempron processor, you won't "rock" anything.

Wanna rock hard? Get a P4 w/ HT or one of them there AMD64's. Maw says dem are sum goodin's too.

:)

PY 222
01-25-2005, 09:55 PM
For this project, Macs are the best option, so I have read.

ECL
01-25-2005, 10:12 PM
The machine you have - as opposed to recommending something you don't have - will work fine on the project. Yes, AMD chips are markedly better than P4s on Dnet, and a Mac will clobber a comparably-clocked x86 by a wide margin. But your Sempron should be good for several hundred giganodes a day, just fire up the client and crunch away.

There are a couple of powerhouse teams coming up behind us, so we can use all the help we can get to keep our place.

black_civic55
01-25-2005, 10:21 PM
what project needs the most help right now?? this or F@H. Im not a huge help but i will any way i can.

Beyond
01-25-2005, 10:27 PM
Speed comparision pages at Dnet for OGR Project.

http://n0cgi.distributed.net/speed/query.php?cputype=all&arch=all&contest=ogr&multi=0

Chinasaur
01-25-2005, 11:10 PM
I run ONE PPC G4 @ 933 on OGR and get ~22G/s :)

PPC R00LZ OGR...but you have to convert to Macintosh..which is a Feature and not a Bug.

Up to you :)

Enjoy what you do/crucnch!

alpha
01-26-2005, 06:04 AM
Put redundant K6-2's on OGR. It is the only thing they are good for these days.

jasong
01-26-2005, 03:27 PM
Originally posted by CaptainMooseInc
With any Sempron processor, you won't "rock" anything.
Actually, for FaD, if you go by points to price ratio, Sempron is a damn good deal. It will beat EVERY other deal, for FaD, if they ever make a board that can take more than one Sempron. IMNSHO

For just about anything else, though, I totally agree with you.:cool:

jasong
01-26-2005, 04:33 PM
My 2200+(1.75GHz) Sempron seems to be averaging about 12 minutes a packet, 6.1 million to 6.5 million. Comparing it to the other computers, I'm of the opinion that this is another project where cache size is close to irrelevant, but I accept correction well. :D

StrategyFreak
01-26-2005, 05:28 PM
Athlon MP boards use SMP. I think there was a way to change Athlon XPs into MPs for use on those boards. You'll have to find registered memory for those.

In comparision to something like a Athlon FX 55, the Sempron/Athlons are far weaker. The only reason they perform much better than P4s in FaD is because of their strong FPU. I stay with AMD out of loyalty. The P4s beat the Athlons in some other projects because of their higher speed. The Athlon line is no longer developed, and the Sempron = Athlon XP.

I would recommend Find A Drug for that processor.

I think Intel's hyperthreading is overrated for distributed computing because it doesn't help for most projects. It does have a great performance boost for multitasking in regular applications though. I've never used a Mac before.

alpha
01-27-2005, 05:30 AM
Originally posted by jasong
My 2200+(1.75GHz) Sempron seems to be averaging about 12 minutes a packet, 6.1 million to 6.5 million. Comparing it to the other computers, I'm of the opinion that this is another project where cache size is close to irrelevant, but I accept correction well. :D

It sounds like you are doing RC5-72, but you're posting in the OGR forum. Which project was your initial question aimed at?

Chinasaur
01-30-2005, 11:21 PM
Latest numbers from the newest G4 upgrade available. And these numbers are from a 100Mhz FSB Cube with a 1.7Ghz upgrade :) A dual 1.7Ghz upgrade card is available for $699.00.

http://forums.macnn.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=2385846#post2384338

If OGR is your game, the BEST HW choice is PPC.

Beyond
01-30-2005, 11:32 PM
Originally posted by alpha
It sounds like you are doing RC5-72, but you're posting in the OGR forum. Which project was your initial question aimed at?


Nice numbers, but a little pricey.

Wondering what the AMD 64's are able to do, a friend on IRC is claiming 26,000,000 nodes/sec on his AMD 64 3000+

Chinasaur
01-30-2005, 11:52 PM
Pricey?

My 933Mhz G4 does 22G/s. The 3000@26G/s is a 2Ghz chip.

:bonk: :rotfl:

:cheers:

Beyond
01-31-2005, 12:12 AM
My 933Mhz G4 does 22G/s.

Nice if you can afford them, if dnet was all I did I would consider switiching to all G4/G5's.

I will be testing my first AMD 64 next weekend (time allowing), Fry's had a decent deal on 3200's with mobo combo here this weekend, got one Saturday, then decide to go ahead and get a 2nd one today, have to wait till next Friday to get the RAM and PSU's.

If all goes well might be time to concentrate on OGR again. ;)

Oh...any ideas on what the heck is dnet's hold up on the new Be client, I know they have it, what are they waiting on?

Chinasaur
01-31-2005, 08:59 AM
Originally posted by Beyond

Oh...any ideas on what the heck is dnet's hold up on the new Be client, I know they have it, what are they waiting on?

:dunno:

Beyond
01-31-2005, 03:48 PM
Originally posted by Chinasaur
:dunno:

Me wonders if email to bovine or decibel would help to shake it loose?

guru
02-01-2005, 03:07 AM
Maybe you need to send them a 6 pack of beer. :|party|:

guru

Beyond
02-06-2005, 09:10 PM
Originally posted by guru
Maybe you need to send them a 6 pack of beer. :|party|:

guru

Looks like a case of the right hand not knowing what the left hand is doing. :bang:

Got one of the A64's put together, downloading FreeBSD 5.3_amd64 now. ;) Also acquired a new Mobo for the XP 1800+ and dual Athlon that has been down for ages.