Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 41 to 65 of 65

Thread: A NetBoot Notes thread

  1. #41
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    See something about 16 RAM disks of 32678 each?
    bunch of other stuff, then...
    running dhclient

    mouting root filesystem: /opt/ltsp/i386 from: 192.168.2.20
    etho: setting full-duplex mode

    then it just sits there, doesn't go any further...

    I noticed ROOT owns /DF/*.* and perms are 744

  2. #42
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    What version are the files in the tftpboot/lts directory ?

    Looks like a nic driver problem.

  3. #43
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    If the files in your lts directory are .19
    you need to upgrade to .21


    grab this file from ltsp.org
    ltsp_kernel-3.0.10-i386.tgz

  4. #44
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400
    Usually the ram disk size results in a kernel panic....

    How about trying this first:


    Download the file syslinux-2.05.tar.gz from ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/boot/syslinux

    unzip and untar the thing. find the file pxelinux.0
    and copy it to the /tfptboot/lts directory.

    That hung me up during boot-up....
    FreeDC Mercenary


  5. #45
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400
    My bad - I think my instructions point towards the 0.9 version....
    FreeDC Mercenary


  6. #46
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    IB

    I had days of frustration with this but the end result justified all the pain.
    Hang on in there.

  7. #47
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Code:
    drwxr-xr-x    4 root     root         4096 Aug 19 16:24 .
    drwxr-xr-x    4 root     root         4096 Aug 19 05:55 ..
    -rw-r--r--    1 root     root       679237 Aug 19 07:42 bzImage-2.4.19-ltsp-1
    -rw-r--r--    1 root     root       731855 Aug 19 07:42 initrd-2.4.19-ltsp-1.gz
    -rw-r--r--    1 root     root        11300 Aug 19 16:24 pxelinux.0
    drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         4096 Aug 19 08:17 pxelinux.cfg
    drwxrwsr-x    6 1026     1026         4096 Jul 16 15:24 syslinux-2.05
    -rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1617920 Aug 19 16:21 vmlinuz-2.4.21-ltsp-1
    -rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1656832 Aug 19 16:21 vmlinuz-2.4.21-ltsp-lpp-1
    I think step 3 hasn't been done in rsbriggs's setup
    Still stops at the same place... duplex mode...
    It also hogs up all the 100mbps network with traffic and makes it impossible to ssh to

  8. #48
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    Re: Checklist Item 2

    This is as far as I have gone ...

    Originally posted by rsbriggs
    Checklist Item 2

    Assuming that you have correctly installed your new Red Hat, you should now be booted into your nice new install, and have network connectivity. Make certain that both of your network cards are set up, and active.

    Fire up your choice of browsers, and head to the following link: http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...group_id=17723
    (Since links change over time, this is where the "download software" selection of http://www.ltsp.org takes you)

    Download the following .RPM files from the 3.0 section:

    ltsp_core-3.0.9-0.i386.rpm
    ltsp_kernel-3.0.9-0.i386.rpm
    ltsp_local_apps-3.0.0-0.i386.rpm

    and these additional files

    pxestuff-3.0.5-i386.tgz (PXE boot files)
    ltspcfg (from the 4.0 section. This is a new PERL script that is supposed to make setting up an LTSP system "easier".)


    NOTE:
    grab this file from ltsp.org: ltsp_kernel-3.0.10-i386.tgz
    in place of the 0.9 version


    As root, install / unpack the packages like so:

    rpm -ivh ltsp_core-3.0.9-0.i386.rpm
    rpm -ivh ltsp_kernel-3.0.10-0.i386.rpm
    rpm -ivh ltsp_local_apps-3.0.0-0.i386.rpm
    tar zxvf pxestuff-3.0.5-i386.tgz

    then do:

    cd /opt/ltsp/templates
    ./ltsp_initialize

    and choose to apply the changes.

    There is some additional setup to do for the PXE boot file that you just unpacked. That will be covered in the next section....


    ( Coming: Change to the directory where pxestuff unpacked, and follow the instructions in the README file. The last step in the README is to copy the file /etc/dhcpd.example to /etc/dhcpd.conf and edit it. We'll cover that in the next step. )

  9. #49
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400

    Check List Item #3

    Checklist item 3

    In the previous step you unpacked the PXE file. In that directory there is a README file that tells you how to set up the PXE files. Enter that directory (called /root/pxestuff on my machine.) and do the following. Follow along in the readme if you wonder what each step does:

    1.) cp bzImage* /tftpboot/lts
    2.) cp init* /tftpboot/lts
    3.) cp pxelinux.0 /tftpboot/lts
    4.) mkdir /tftpboot/lts/pxelinux.cfg
    5.) cp pxelinux.cfg/default /tftpboot/lts/pxelinux.cfg

    6.) You now need to edit the file /etc/dhcpd.conf.sample (put there by the ltsp package) and add the contents of dhcp.sample in the pxestuff directory. Basically this is an entry for ws001 that has a long line of vendor option bytes in it. I changed it to be ws003, and inserted it just before the final closing } of the file.

    7.) You can now copy the sample dhcpd.conf file over to be the real one:
    cp dhcpd.conf.example dhcpd.conf

    8.) The "real" version of /etc/dhcpd.conf will need some other changes. In particular, add a range of addresses to be served. Change the section that looks like this:
    Code:
    shared-network WORKSTATIONS {
        subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        }
    }
    to look like this:

    Code:
    shared-network WORKSTATIONS {
         subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
            range 192.168.0.1  192.168.0.99;
        }
    }
    This will server up addresses in the range of 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.99 automatically. We'll use 100 and above for "static" IPs assigned to workstations. Don't forget the ; on the end of the added line.

    Also, change any instance of 192.168.0 to be whatever YOUR subnet needs (like 192.168.2)

    9.) one last step before re-starting DHCP:

    Download the file syslinux-2.05.tar.gz from ftp://ftp.kernel.org/pub/linux/utils/boot/syslinux
    unzip and untar the thing. Find the file pxelinux.0 in the directory and copy it to the /tfptboot/lts directory.
    cd syslinux-2.05/
    cp pxelinux.0 /tftpboot/lts

    Here are some additional notes from the README:
    If you want to include additional kernel command line options, you
    need to edit the /tftpboot/lts/pxelinux.cfg/default file, and include
    the options on the 'append' line.

    If you want to specify different configurations for each workstation, you need to create a config file in the /tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg directory. The name of the config file is made up from the IP address of the workstation encoded in uppercase HEX digits. That is, if the IP address of the workstation is 192.168.0.1, the filename should be 'C0A80001'

    10.) Restart the dhcp daemon by executing:

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/dhcpd restart

    (we'll be starting and stopping lots of daemons - get used to typing /etc/rc.d/init.d/ or write a script that allows you to pass the name of the daemon to restart.)

    Your Linux box should now be accepting DHCP requests, and assigning addresses.
    Last edited by rsbriggs; 08-19-2003 at 09:40 PM.
    FreeDC Mercenary


  10. #50
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Code:
    Aug 19 18:04:58 epox dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.2.201 from 00:04:75:1a:7a:90 via eth0
    Aug 19 18:04:58 epox dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.2.201 to 00:04:75:1a:7a:90 via eth0
    Aug 20 01:04:59 epox in.tftpd[1955]: tftp: client does not accept options 
    Aug 19 18:05:08 epox dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from 00:04:75:1a:7a:90 via eth0
    Aug 19 18:05:08 epox dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.2.201 to 00:04:75:1a:7a:90 via eth0
    Aug 19 18:05:10 epox dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.2.201 (192.168.2.20) from 00:04:75:1a:7a:90 via eth0
    Aug 19 18:05:10 epox dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.2.201 to 00:04:75:1a:7a:90 via eth0
    tail /var/log/messages
    Client shows booting up, loading up 16 RAM DISKs, going into duplex on the NIC, then nothing. If I hit return, it just scrolls up the screen.
    ctrl-alt-del lets me reboot it. /me shrugs

  11. #51
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400
    Two things.

    1.) If I turn off DHCP on my main windows box, it hoses the entire network. Have to go with multiple sub-nets, which means that I have to take the server down AGAIN, and re-install the second NIC and re-configure my networking on that box.....

    2.) In the /opt/ltsp/i386/etc/lts.conf file, change all the runlevels from 5 to 3 and try re-booting the client workstation.
    FreeDC Mercenary


  12. #52
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Code:
    [Default]
            SERVER             = 192.168.2.254
            XSERVER            = auto
            X_MOUSE_PROTOCOL   = "PS/2"
            X_MOUSE_DEVICE     = "/dev/psaux"
            X_MOUSE_RESOLUTION = 400
            X_MOUSE_BUTTONS    = 3
            USE_XFS            = N
            LOCAL_APPS         = N
            RUNLEVEL           = 3
    
    #------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    #
    # Example of specifying X settings for a workstation
    #
    [ws001]
            XSERVER            = auto
            LOCAL_APPS         = N
            USE_NFS_SWAP       = N
            SWAPFILE_SIZE      = 48m
            RUNLEVEL           = 3
    no luck, same place, just sites there after saying full duplex mode on the NIC.

  13. #53
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400
    stuck for tonight, I'm afraid. Put the 2nd NIC card back into my server, and am running fine here. Should be able to try the VIQ tomorrow.... Must sleep


    :sleepy:
    FreeDC Mercenary


  14. #54
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400

    The M7VIQ

    Success!!

    Board comes up and net-boots just fine. It is folding as we speak, and I just opened the box that it came in about 15 minutes ago.....

    Just one scare - you not only have to select LAN as one of the boot devices, you also have to make the BIOS selection to enable the LAN BOOT ROM.
    FreeDC Mercenary


  15. #55
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    MACless DHCP.conf

    Anyone figured out how to run tftp/dhcpd without having to specify a MAC address for each client?

  16. #56
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    It can be done but the workstations have to have names assigned by dhcpd.
    You have to add all the names and IP addresses to DNS.
    dhcpd will allocate names and IP's dynamically providing it can find them in DNS.

    This command should be added to the global defaults:
    get-lease-hostnames true;

    The vender encapsulation options would also have to be moved to the global defaults section.

  17. #57
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400
    The vender encapsulation options would also have to be moved to the global defaults section.
    Probably should be anyway - all of these boards are using Intel PXE version 2.0 build 82, and not liking the options. (My log shows a log entry of "Client does not accept options" everytime each one of these boots, anyways...)

    I've been able to net-boot thse boards without specifing a MAC, but could never get them a hostname assigned properly....
    FreeDC Mercenary


  18. #58
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    My brothers, Tim and Rick, built me 8 Power Supply splitters.

    I tested one for continuity, just to be sure it was ok...

    Plugged two Biostar M7VIQ mobos into the one Power Supply and turned it on, viola!!

    All wires are connected on the Y-adapters... 400 Watt Allied Power Supply.

    Plugged one mobo into one end of the Y, then the other into the other end of the Y, then connected it to the Power Supply mobo connector and turned it on.

    POST!

    It's been running for several hours now, and none of the wires are hot!

    Thanks Tim and Rick !!!

    Now to finish the whole project and get some pics

  19. #59
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400
    Well, unless I can do the same somehow, I'm going to have to shut down at least a couple of comps. Just got a $300 electricity bill......

    I'm probably going to shut down my old gaming comp. Just the video card heat output alone can raise the temperature of my entire comp room by 6 degress F. Heat like that's got to be a little expensive. If I had a splitter, I'd probably buy another M7VIQ and retire it ASAP....

    Got another awfully toasty 800 Mhz Slot-A that I'd replace with a VIQ, too, come to think of it...

    Last edited by rsbriggs; 09-08-2003 at 11:43 PM.
    FreeDC Mercenary


  20. #60
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I tried to re-size it without losing too much quality...
    Excellent quality work and nice looking to
    Attached Images Attached Images

  21. #61
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Sorry to hear that!

    I'm sure mine is gonna be right close to that, but will wait one more month to see if I can keep it all turned on myself.
    Last year, I paid over $500 for 4 months in a row before I took it offline
    Speaking of toasty, I wonder if the heat shrink tubing will shrink further, in all the heat

    Oh hell ya! Upgrade them slow boats

    Originally posted by rsbriggs
    Well, unless I can do the same somehow, I'm going to have to shut down at least a couple of comps. Just got a $300 electricity bill......

    Got another awfully toasty 800 Mhz Slot-A that I'd replace with a VIQ, too, come to think of it...

  22. #62
    Not here rsbriggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,400
    Would a Hydra have any use for it ?
    FreeDC Mercenary


  23. #63
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Magnav0x will take ANYTHING

  24. #64
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    At last

    I can use the built in nvidia nics with ltsp.

    The latest ltsp kernel supports nvidia.
    It includes the reverse engineered nvidia driver {forcedeth}

  25. #65
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    The last piece of the puzzle just fell into place.
    How to remotely reboot the nodes.

    I have never got shutdown to work on the nodes as it runs a script which disconnects the NFS shares before poweroff and the script never finishes.

    Well I discovered reboot -f
    No more turning the power supplys off to reset them

    This command shouldn't be run on a PC with HD's but as the nodes are diskless it is OK.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •