PDA

View Full Version : Incorrect Protein

cat_odair
06-18-2002, 02:14 PM
I'm new at this so please don't bite. :(

I've been working on the last two proteins - just dl newest and can't upload - keep getting Status 908 Incorrect Protein.

Yes, I'm connected
No there's no connection problems
I'm on Linux Mandrake and dl the RH which has worked fine for me in the past.

I went back deleted the newest file and downloaded it again - same result.

Any ideas

KWSN_Millennium2001Guy
06-18-2002, 02:18 PM
Are you behind a caching proxy server or firewall? I experience the same problem behind mine. I have to manually clear the proxy server and flush the cache. Most people don't have access to be able to do this, so you may have to wait 4 to 12 hours for the cache to time-out itself.

Ni! :D

Brian the Fist
06-18-2002, 07:01 PM
Actually, someone just told me I can use a <meta> tag to tell proxies not to cache server.status, so if I can figure out how to work that, that will no longer be a problem for any proxy users such as yourself. Cross your fingers :jester:

KWSN_Millennium2001Guy
06-19-2002, 02:02 AM
I isolated a machine or two that I could duplicate your problem on.

Here is the situation to cause the client to fail every time:

On a Windows Client install:

1. Shut down the old client by deleting the foldtrajlite.lock file.
2. The program shuts down, creating a filelist.txt file and leaves behind some .bz2 files.
3. you copy the contents of the latest download over all of the files in the directory, leaving the proxy.cfg, handle.txt and autoupdate.cfg files alone, also leaving the filelist.txt and the associated files.
4. you start up the new client.
5. It complains that the upload file is the old protein, it doesn't upload or delete the entries from the filelist.txt file.
6. The program NEVER will upload the files, it fails on the first files and never tries the next ones on the list.