PDA

View Full Version : 2500 Machines at my disposal...

Mcgilligan
02-27-2007, 08:56 AM
Hi, I am really new to distributed/grid computing and i am looking for a way to earn some cash. Does anyone know of any projects out there (besides Ubero) that are willing to pay for my unused cycles? Also, it is not me that would be getting the money, but rather i work for a school district that has a very tight technology budget and this money would go towards upgrading hardware. The machines vary in specs, but almost all of them are 2.4 ghz P4s with atleast 512 megs of ram, and we have about 2500 machines in the district. Also, can anyone refer me to some sort of "calculator" that will tell me the predicted performance of these machines if they were to be combined into a cluster.

LAURENU2
02-27-2007, 09:30 AM
I think Ubero is the last one standing
But maybe jasong from here would rent some of the computers to run DC

If not join us and put them to good use

jasong
02-27-2007, 04:31 PM
I think Ubero is the last one standing
But maybe jasong from here would rent some of the computers to run DC

If not join us and put them to good use
2500 computers is a little beyond my meager budget, lol.

I"ll be back with a helpful link in about 10 minutes. Try here. (http://www.computepower.com/)

How much are you willing to micromanage these PCs? Because I'm sure there are a lot of people running BOINC that might be willing to rent time on one of those P4s. In my opinion, you should come up with a base rate, say that people have to rent in chunks of 4 weeks, and try to get some big spenders.

This could take up a lot of your time, so don't be afraid to ask for a percentage if this works out well.