PDA

View Full Version : Two for one! OR One for Two! ( what ever works for you!)

Steve_Watkins
04-26-2002, 09:49 PM
I have been thinking about this for a long time...... I have been fighting high power bills and HEAT for the last three years and I have come up with a way to fight back! :D

IN this picture you will see two mother board and two power supplys, the Top PS is the only one running ! They have been running three weeks on only one PS and so far been trouble free!

Steve_Watkins
04-26-2002, 09:56 PM
And yesterday I started converting more of my machines,,, Here is a pair of Iwill boards and 1.4 t birds.....

Darkness Productions
04-26-2002, 11:07 PM
Steve:

Can you give us a good detail of how you did this? I'd be very interested, and I think a lot of others (IronBits, ColinT) might be interested in this as well.....

FoBoT
04-26-2002, 11:19 PM
so what you are saying is , a good 250/300W pwr supply will power two pc's , if they don't have all the "regular" stuff like cdrom, multiple accessories, etc

cool :cool:

Steve_Watkins
04-27-2002, 12:35 AM
The PS in the first picture is a 300w PS.

It is powering

VP6 MB w/ 2 p3 700@933
2 CPU fans
1Hd
1 nic
1 video card

vt6x4 MB w/ p3 700@980
1 CPU fan
1 HD
1 nic
1 video card

The PS in the second picture is a 430w PS

It is powering

2 I will KA266 ( might be KK266 , I forget ) Mother boards
2 5000 RPM CPU fans
2 1.3 AMD t- birds
2 Hd's
2 nic's
2 Video Cards

The key to making this all work is a home made Power Connector.

I bought 15 9" ATX extentions and did a little soldering :D

Here is a picture.....

Steve_Watkins
04-27-2002, 12:48 AM
The first time I pluged it all in I had problems!

Thought I had fried my boards and was having nightmares about never catching TPS-KEN ! :D

But after playing around I found all was well and a simple reset of the cmos was all it took to restore the boards.