PDA

View Full Version : Outlook 2003 as a local service?

Scootenalongnow
04-26-2005, 03:31 PM
Is this possible?

I get required information through email at work and must keep outlook open at all times but it sometimes accidentally gets closed by some people :swear: which is dangerous for what I do so I would like to use the automatic restart capability of a windows service fix this problem. I asked on the helpline at work but they were dumbfounded. :confused:

Maybe there is a better way? Anyone had this come up before?

Bok
04-26-2005, 03:47 PM
hmmm,

I'm not a windows expert, but I would have thought anything could be installed as a started task using srvany.exe and instsrv.exe

I'm sure some of the windows admins here will chime up soon :)

Bok

Scootenalongnow
04-26-2005, 04:49 PM
Originally posted by Bok
hmmm,

I'm not a windows expert, but I would have thought anything could be installed as a started task using srvany.exe and instsrv.exe

I'm sure some of the windows admins here will chime up soon :)

Bok

You already know more than I do. Thanks I'll research those.

meep
04-26-2005, 05:24 PM
This idea may be a bit more complicated than it needs to be, but if you must keep Outlook running, creating a batch file which runs every "however often" that checks for the presence of outlook.exe, if found does nothing, if not found executes the process, would do the trick.

You can use the reskit tool tlist.exe to return either the PID (proving it is running) of Outlook.exe - or if it is not found, it will return -1, prompting your batch file to then execute Outlook.

You can keep your batch file re-running simply using the AT command, as frequently as you like.

I am not sure how well Outlook would run as a service, if at all....

Scootenalongnow
04-26-2005, 06:14 PM
Originally posted by meep