Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: HA Ha nearly missed it.

  1. #1
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882

    HA Ha nearly missed it.

    I`ve just seen the solution to my problems.
    I want an x2 but I also wanted the 2x1meg cache but the 4400 is a bit on the high side so it was going to be an x2 3800.
    But I`ve just seen the 165 Opteron, dual core AND it`s 2x1meg cache of course and little more than the x2 3800.
    It is only 1800Mhz as opposed to 2.0Ghz but apparently these clock like nobodies business and easily reach 2.5Ghz-2.7Ghz if you really want it (and on air) though they can run stinking hot.


    BUT £230 in the UK is magic!!!!! and a steal
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  2. #2

  3. #3
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,284
    Blog Entries
    13
    hmm,

    do these things really overclock as well as the 3800+ ? What other drawbacks are there ?

    i.e. are the standard 939 boards supporting them?

    Might try one...

    Bok

  4. #4
    Administrator Dyyryath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,850
    I'd also be interested in hearing how it goes for you if you decide to go that route.
    "So utterly at variance is destiny with all the little plans of men." - H.G. Wells

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by IronBits
    2.95 Ghz on air with 1.40 volts
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...79#post1057779
    I read through 8 or 9 pages and nobody really posted anything about the 146. Mostly just 144 stuff. And it really doesn't seem like anybody in that thread was too concerned about stability. Doubt any of them would be able to run DC projects at more than 2.6GHz.
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  7. #7
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Bok i agree

    It's easy to overclock an A64 over 2.8ghz and run a few benches.
    There is no way it would run a DC client for more than 5 mins though.

    Realisticly 2.6 ghz is a good speed for 24 hr running.

    Obviously you can post a lot higher and maybe game for an hour or 2 but run it flat out doing DC and it will be a flakey piece of *rap.

  8. #8
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    OK, I`ve now got replies from several people who said they`ve just got them up and running.
    Total of 9 cpu`s to date on boards from an NF3 to NF4 and ULI chipset Asus`s other company......
    Mostly saying they can post them up to 2.8Ghz with ease but stable is around 2.65 to 2.7 on air.
    Still waiting for 3 of the guys to get them water coolled cos they all say the same thing about high temps on air but as these chips are also server classed, nobody is too bothered about running at 60 to 70 on air.
    Seems like these chips may be benefitting from a mature production line now and speed binning and as they should be around a smaller price than the equivalent (4400 ??) chip and at least very close to the 3800, I would guess, for my purposes especially, they`re definitely worth a look.
    I really do need the 1 meg cache for some of the work I do cos it makes a helluva difference as going out to main memory, even with the low latencies possible on AMD chipsets, for data sizes of around 700-800Kb, can make a lot of difference to my work.
    The temps I have been quoted are from retail box chips with standard heatsink as fitted at factory so I guess when some of them get onto fitting decent sinks, they may get better temps.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  9. #9
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    I just ordered an Opteron 165 and it should be here Friday(or Monday). I'll be trying it out in an Epox 9NPA Ultra and Asus A8N-E.

    Didn't realize these were going to sell for ~$350. If they overclock to 2.5GHz or more I'll be extremely happy.

    BTW, the 165 is dual core running at 1.8GHz with 1Mb cache for each core.
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  10. #10
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    Yep... got the results on a total of 9 now as they`re not too easy to find in UK yet and the prices are all over the place but Komplett are listing them at £10 less than the x2 3800 which is about right now the price reductions are feeding through.
    Anyway, reports so far, all on air, are between 2.5Ghz stable and 2.85 into Windows but not stable and rather high temps of between 65C and 75C. All those are retails and word is these are going to be good cores from a mature line.
    I`ve used 1meg and 2 meg cores before from the Xeon range and they made a helluva difference for video and audio work on several progs I normally use. The 2 meg (PIII type 900) Xeons were rocket standard workhorses on our video servers at work and they`re still in use I`m told for their outstanding performance.
    Be nice to get your results though as mine will be on order at the end of the month cos I`ve just been hammered with some repair bills which weren`t expected so I was intending to buy this week but now I gotta wait for the reimbursement on the bills.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  11. #11
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Here's what the 165 Opteron is topping out at in my Asus A8N-E...


    I'm 99.9% sure the motherboard is the limiting factor now since it doesn't have a chipset voltage adjustment. I'm running 300x9 and it will instantly crash at 304x9 no matter what memory divider I try. 301-303 seems stable but for some reason the BIOS won't boot when you have it set over 299(which actually works out to 300).

    Going from a 2.53GHz x2 to this 2.7GHz Opteron has saved me around 30% when encoding video... even with the memory speed being retarded to 193MHz@2.5-3-3-8. I'm going to swap around some memory here at home so I can try running some 2-2-2-6 action at ~240MHz. Should increase performance very nicely.

    BTW, for cooling I'm using a Thermaltake Tower112(monster copper sink).
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  12. #12
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,284
    Blog Entries
    13
    My opteron 165...

    Currently at 2.61Ghz with stock cooling and NO change in voltage as yet.. cpu is 47C under load

    This thing is amazing!!

    Just ordered a 170 too from mwave as the 165's are out of stock everywhere.

    Bok

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •