Results 1 to 40 of 40

Thread: 1st and 2nd places for

  1. #1
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518

    1st and 2nd places for

    Helix and PCZ, respectively.

    Congratulations!!!

    Soon Elf will join you both on the top.


    Carlos

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking




    don't tell everyone

    Not sure how long it will last, and pesky PCZ is back at work (i think) next week so major borgage!

    Hope free-DC get first place!! only 84% left to do.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking Free-DC rocks





    Free-DC in the team stats are kicking well doin' quite well.


    AND!!!!!!!! team ID AND!!!!!!! user ID!!!!!! and they said it would never fly


    Now for cool stats


    need to lay down now, doc says been postin' too much

  4. #4
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,116
    Blog Entries
    13
    Let's see about redoing those stats then....

  5. #5
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    I really want to thank Danail Obreschkow (University of Oxford) for his effort on updating the stats and the client with my/Free-DC requests, he must be tired of my emails!!!

    Now is up to us to bring more power to the project.

    Carlos

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    Maybe when this is finished, you should ask him to stop by here next time he needs some crunching done. We are always happy to help out

    Infact he can of course stop by anytime

    now where is the key to the ? PY222 might have it

  7. #7
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,116
    Blog Entries
    13
    Carlos, only one thing is missing now....

    On the individual users stats, could they possibly list the team the user is in, then we should be complete...

    Thanks him for me too

    I've redone the parser to use the new id's. I'll hold off on the teams to see whether they add team to the user line as it'll be much better that way..


    Bok

  8. #8
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    There's still a bug in the ID's. I already told that to Danail, I think he is fixing it.

    Carlos

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    maybe he just like to get emails from you

  10. #10
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Helix_Von_Smelix
    maybe he just like to get emails from you
    Do you also want to receive a few from me?

    Carlos

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    Nooooooooooooo!


  12. #12
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Helix_Von_Smelix
    Nooooooooooooo!

    Are you sure?

    (I think someone should delete our posts otherwise this is going to.....)

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    Don't worry, no one else is lookin'


  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by em99010pepe
    There's still a bug in the ID's. I already told that to Danail, I think he is fixing it.

    Carlos
    With the bug in the id's where do you think points are going to, my username or id#? At one time I had over 9 million points and now I'm around 7 million. I also noticed that my id# has changed with the user called The Phoenix.
    TeAm AnandTech


  15. #15
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Silverthorne
    With the bug in the id's where do you think points are going to, my username or id#? At one time I had over 9 million points and now I'm around 7 million. I also noticed that my id# has changed with the user called The Phoenix.
    I don't know.

    Carlos

  16. #16
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Message from Danail.

    Due to a technical bug, we had to redefine all the user IDs and team IDs. They no longer correspond to their values from a yesterday.

  17. #17
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Look out Helix

    Silverthorne is coming up fast.
    .

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    Not putting amy more on this. Still we are them in Team output



    shame you can't run it twice on each box, could just about double my output!!!!

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Unhappy

    My CPDN stats are through the floor

  20. #20
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,116
    Blog Entries
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Helix_Von_Smelix
    Not putting amy more on this. Still we are them in Team output



    shame you can't run it twice on each box, could just about double my output!!!!
    rename the executable for a second instance on SMP boxen?

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    Nope, it writes back to a common file in windows DIR.

    Can't even fool it by switching user.


    actually now you mention it i think there is a way. to late in the day now to try. Will let you know

  22. #22
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,116
    Blog Entries
    13
    Batch script with the windows dir variable replaced ?

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    not crazy enought to try that just yet

    create new user with very limited account.

    startup in normal account, switch user to limited account, and hey presto can't write into windows DIR and defaults to same dir as the exe

    maybe

    has anone else noticed that it's running very very slow. from several a second to one every several seconds???

  24. #24
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Oh but you can.

    Just run as many clients as you have CPU's.

    Trust me the opposition are.
    "I even have multiple clients running on hyper threaded machines and 4 on my Xeons. "

  25. #25
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Just checked my clients they are running very very slowly.
    Hope it's just a temporary thing.

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    what so you are using a different start folder??

    Cuboid1
    cuboid2

    etc??

    and they all write back to the same file??


  27. #27
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    I have a couple of dualies on this.
    I'm just running the same exe twice.

    I watched the clients over time and they score differing amounts of points and upload at different times so i am reasonably satisfied they are doing different work.

    It's not me thats running four instances on the Xeons btw thats Silverthorne.

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    Off to bed now. you never know we maybe doin' the same work twice, well 4 times on a HT XEON. That will make them scratch there heads, getting more results back than work sent




  29. #29
    Quote Originally Posted by PCZ
    Oh but you can.

    Just run as many clients as you have CPU's.

    Trust me the opposition are.
    "I even have multiple clients running on hyper threaded machines and 4 on my Xeons. "
    Yep, that's me from the Anandtech forum, I saw no reason for not running as many clients as I could. I just started 2 instances in different folders for the H/T machines and 4 for the Xeons.

    Am I not supposed to? They each do different work. Right?
    TeAm AnandTech


  30. #30
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    I just noticed on my VMs that after putting a shortcut into the wrong startup folder on one machine it was actually starting up 2 exes and they are both doing different work from the same folder.
    So as an experiment, I started up 4 and though they are feeding through to the same folder, they def are doing different work. Narf slows em down though on a VM.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  31. #31
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Silverthorne

    Whether or not to run multiple instances is something we couldn't decide on.
    The client writes all it's files in c:\windows. actually %systemroot% which for most folks is windows.

    So multiple clients are sharing files. they could be doing the same work.
    Note could, it appears to work fine.

  32. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    @ carlos.

    Could you ask Danail to clear this up.

    Should we be running only one instance on each box, or one instance for each CPU and virtual cpu??

    Have PM'ed Danail to speed things up


  33. #33
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    My clients are 'running' so slowly they have almost stopped.
    If we have to finish the rest of the billion at this pace it will take a very long time

  34. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    below we have the answer.....

    Hi Gary,

    There is no problem running several instances at the same time. Each of them randomly samples a subset of initial conditions and material parameters and the random algorithm is initiated for each instance individually. There is no chance of sending the same data back several times.

    Many thanks for your contribution!

    Best, Danail

    and mine are running darn slow too...... will ask

  35. #35
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Thats good news.

  36. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    and the answer to the speed issue below from Danail.

    "Yes, you have recieved new parameters from the server. We are currently checking an extreme physical situation. But the old speed shoud be comming back soon."

    Looks like all sorted, hope no updates to day, am off to Legoland for the day. Well it's is round the corner. Must take the Kids next time


  37. #37
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Strange how we travel hundreds of miles to visit attractions and yet ignore the ones on our doorstep.
    I never go to Thorpe Park but it's only a stones throw away.

    Good news about the speed issues.
    We would prefer a little less extreme calculations thanks

    Guess i'll have to go to work now

  38. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    33% work done, not bad from 3% a week ago.

    Off to work PCZ and get borging!!



    Free-DC rule

  39. #39
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    Not the server speed slowing mine down tho` it does keep throwing up a no server warning on restart occasionally which kills off the process

    All you guys off to work....huh, wish I was.

    Have to console myself with a blanket bath this afternoon. Hope i get 2 nice nurses.
    One of the District ones is an ex Mental Nurse who got stabbed whilst on the psycho ward ("Detained For Life" patients) after being pinned down by 4 patients. Used a snapped off piece of a sapling from the garden. She`s a BIG girl as well and apparently crippled 3 of them before help came, despite half a sapling stuck in her shoulder
    I wouldn`t dare upset her, needless to say.
    Mind you, she`s quite a gentle person otherwise and only left St. Nichs because the manager though it best...not frightened of anything, still, despite her experience.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  40. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

    Talking

    @ shish, some people would pay good money for that, and in uniform too

    @PCZ We have family season tickets for Legoland. We go at least once a week in the summer for the day. Also take the kids after school if they have been good, and picnics too.

    Rained a bit today, boy do we need it!!!!!!!!!! so will pop back in on thurs or fri.

    Took your advice on the cheep upgrade path, A64 4800X2 on the way!!!

    scancomputers havea deal at the moment

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •