Thread: Speed

Speed

Remember to edit your foldit bat file to include "-rt" without the quotes if you have the RAM available. This client on will go twice as fast by using RAM as ...well.. a RAM disk

It may use up to 150MB of RAM per running instance. I went from 4.7% to 22% RAM usage on my boxes with 512MB.

Crunch on!!!

Agent Smith was right!: "I hate this place. This zoo. This prison. This reality, whatever you want to call it, I can't stand it any longer. It's the smell! If there is such a thing. I feel saturated by it. I can taste your stink and every time I do, I fear that I've somehow been infected by it."

All but one proc, this server, are running with the -rt switch.

Holy cow, it is about twice as fast! Not that I seriously doubted it, but it still surprised me. The current 138-residue protein is running faster than the last one (was it 86? 83? something like that...) was running.

Hello...

I'm new to all this... I just received the new update... I installed the 1.7 dfgui... Where do I install the -rt ??? I can not find the foldit.bat file??? Also if you lead me to the file please descript where exactly to install th -rt...

I have windows xp home and I downloaded the text version...

Thanks,

Slo...

either this new protien is doing it or the -rt is doing it...but after a while the client will just cease to crunch at all.

Senior Member KWSN_Millennium2001Guy's Avatar
    Are you sure that the client isn't just "backtracking" and working on a low-energy value? I had a machine look like it stopped working, but after it finally finished (progress.txt didn't update for over 4 hours) and uploaded I had a new low energy protein.

Just a possibility.

Ni!

I haven't been following Df lately. Is there a a new client ? When did it come out? Should I open foldit bat in a text editor and put -rt someplace? Or add the -rt to the shortcut like everything else?

Is there a writeup about this?
    Colin Thompson

Colin ...