Results 1 to 35 of 35

Thread: How fast is your internet connection??

  1. #1
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6

    Talking How fast is your internet connection??

    I have a 3 MBit/s Flat DSL line.

    But there are other persons on this planet who have faster internet access
    See here: http://www.thelocal.se/7869/20070712/ (found at an Austrian DSL forum)

    the-mk

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin USA
    Posts
    129
    I get a WOPPING 19.2K connection........


    Beat that............



    Yes that is for real. My dialup sucks..............................
    Since you can read this, Thank a Teacher.

    Since you are reading this in English, Thank a Veteran.




    Personal Web Page
    http://www.maqs.net/~jmerlin/

  3. #3
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Mine is now at 8128/512 Kbps.

  4. #4

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Carolina USA
    Posts
    54
    1.5mb down 380kb up
    Life is Just a Big Role Playing Adventure

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Stats Developer magnav0x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,747
    I guarantee no one has a faster connection that this 75 year old lady. 40gb/s

    http://www.thelocal.se/7869/20070712/
    Warning this Post is Rated "M" for Mature

    -Contains Harsh Language
    -L337 HaX0r W3RD2!
    -Partial Nudity

    I haven't lost my mind; it's backed up on tape drive somewhere.

  8. #8
    Free-DC Semi-retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,980
    Well I know mine ain't anywhere close
    2Mbit Down / 384K up or that's what it should be, I'd do a speedtest but I'm erm downloading "something" at the moment and NO it's not p0rn - I leave that to the rest of you :P darn nephew wants a certain film that's just came out.
    Semi-retired from Free-DC...
    I have some time to help.....
    I need a new laptop

  9. #9
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Quote Originally Posted by gopher_yarrowzoo
    Well I know mine ain't anywhere close
    ... I'm erm downloading "something" at the moment and NO it's not p0rn - I leave that to the rest of you :P darn nephew wants a certain film that's just came out.
    It's always the same excuse...films for the nephews...right...bah!

    Carlos

  10. #10
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    I can probably get the prize for slowest broadband: 1152K down / 288K up. And that is AFTER a fairly recent free upgrade from 512K down. It's no fun downloading fast torrents at 115kb/s and it is even less fun seeding at 25kb/s.

    It's mostly due to our distance from the exchange. We're moving house in the next few months and I'll not only be closer to the exchange, but I'm changing to a faster connection.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Florianopolis - Santa Catarina - Brazil
    Posts
    114
    ADSL 600 kbps.

  12. #12
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    16Mb down/1Mb up. Exchange is too far to get the 24Mb available. I dumped my cable cos it was mostly the same speed (tho' guaranteed) but 7 times the price of Sky/Easynet and 16Mb is more than enough plus the free Netgear wifi router (good one) and much cheaper phone and tv so overall I'm saving a load compared to cable which also (despite the expensive rebranding from NTL/Telewest to Virgin Media) was poor customer service if you got the NTL customer care people.
    Only thing that bothers a bit is the increased lag on gaming whereas the cable network is all well connected and fibre and so gives you a lot better connections to much of the world. Really notice it to the US and Russia. But such is life and I'd have to give up computers if I had to go back to a phone connect cos even the mobile wifi is now good speeds (but expensive without a company to pay for it). Actually, we're surrouinded by hotspots here so BT 10Mb is easily available at a pinch and not too dear now.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Amaroque
    Err. That's 1.5 Mbit up. Sorry,

    To tell you the truth, I don't notice much difference between my sisters 12 Mbit, and my 20 Mbit...

  14. #14
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Amaroque
    Err. That's 1.5 Mbit up. Sorry,

    To tell you the truth, I don't notice much difference between my sisters 12 Mbit, and my 20 Mbit...
    Must also take into account to you can only get it as fast as it is being uploaded to you - traffic and line noise

  15. #15
    Ancient Programmer Paratima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    West Central Florida
    Posts
    3,296
    3.8 Mbps down, 0.5 up on Road Runner cable in Florida. Pretty typical, I'd say.
    Probably ought to upgrade.
    HOME: A physical construct for keeping rain off your computers.

  16. #16
    Senior Member birdman2584's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    407
    8.7 Mbit Down, .78 Mbit up.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    268



    :-)


    Too bad I don't have control over the firewall rules.

  18. #18
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    From Los Angeles, CA. to Glendale, AZ.

    From Palo Alto, CA. to Glendale, AZ.

    From Texas

    From Miami

    From New York

    Then I ran the Java based test from Los Angeles

  19. #19
    What site are you guys posting results from?

  20. #20
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Amaroque
    What site are you guys posting results from?
    Do you have a case of Bit envy Amaroque

    Just do a web search for speedtest

  21. #21

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    North Carolina USA
    Posts
    54

    Wayne
    Life is Just a Big Role Playing Adventure

  23. #23

  24. #24
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    You could host a fairly busy Server with that.
    If it weren't for being on comcast.

    and using a different site to speakeasy in Los Angeles California.


  25. #25
    I hosted a small website, nothing major though.

    They won't say anything to me because a relative is an exec over there.

    BTW, Anyone try testmy.net?

  26. #26
    Ancient Programmer Paratima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    West Central Florida
    Posts
    3,296
    I used both testmy.net and dslreports.com. Very close.

    Did a little tweaking after seeing my results yesterday. Brought it up a bit.

    HOME: A physical construct for keeping rain off your computers.

  27. #27
    Here is my home ISP Internet speed:


  28. #28
    Senior Member Scooby Doo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Mystery Machine
    Posts
    103

    Changing ISP soon but this is my current one

  29. #29
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700


    I'm changing too.

  30. #30

    I guess it's a bit faster on this server.

  31. #31
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518

  32. #32
    Ancient Programmer Paratima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    West Central Florida
    Posts
    3,296
    Jeez, alpha,
    You and Gopher-Y need to get some mojo goin' there. Is that the French Postal Network or what?
    BTW, I nudged the EON guys a bit and they got their server rebooted. It's running fine again.
    HEY! Maybe they're on the same net with you guys!
    Oh, wait, that's Texas. Sorry.
    HOME: A physical construct for keeping rain off your computers.

  33. #33
    Free-DC Semi-retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,980
    Partima :P
    Semi-retired from Free-DC...
    I have some time to help.....
    I need a new laptop

  34. #34
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2
    Do you have a case of Bit envy Amaroque

    Just do a web search for speedtest
    Still waiting for you to post your results!

  35. #35
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Amaroque
    Still waiting for you to post your results!
    See I was right when I told you that you had a case of Bit envy Amaroque

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •