Results 1 to 26 of 26

Thread: PlayStation 3 Performance

  1. #1
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    PlayStation 3 Performance

    One PS3 averages ~228 Mnodes/sec - guessing ~20-22 T per day.

    Kill-a-watt shows 114 watts being consumed under full load.

    Enjoy the while we sit back and watch the daily output and help yourself to the

    Oh, and before I forget my manners, here is the obligatory in case I pass anyone.

  2. #2
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,657
    Blog Entries
    13
    What is that in Gnodes ?

    i.e. what numbers can be expected in the stats

    ??

    Bok

  3. #3
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    By looking up Magnav0x's recent scores, being close to what a single PS3 unit outputs, then,
    looking at your pproxy stats, Free-DC OGR Stats and Official Stats we can come up with the following assumptions.
    ~230,000,000 nodes a sec equals ~20,000+ G per day or ~20+ T per day ...

    Anyone else have a better translation from nodes/sec for G and T per day projected output?

  4. #4
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Quote Originally Posted by IronBits
    By looking up Magnav0x's recent scores, being close to what a single PS3 unit outputs, then,
    looking at your pproxy stats, Free-DC OGR Stats and Official Stats we can come up with the following assumptions.
    ~230,000,000 nodes a sec equals ~20,000+ G per day or ~20+ T per day ...

    Anyone else have a better translation from nodes/sec for G and T per day projected output?
    You are correct. You will get 19,872 Gnodes per day. Bok, that's the number you'll get on your stats.

    19,872Gnodes=0.230*3600*24

  5. #5
    wow......... that is just a mind blower it is.

  6. #6
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    ... ...
    14 IronBits [Free-DC] 777 (7) 25-Mar-2002 24-Nov-2007 32,001 4.54 4,242,534 1.37

    Well I'll be... my lucky numbers to start off with.

    ______ _____

  7. #7
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok
    What is that in Gnodes ?
    i.e. what numbers can be expected in the stats ??
    Bok
    in ppstats, I see this formula :
    For past days: Mnodes/sec = nodes / (60*60*24) / 1,000,000
    For today: Mnodes/sec = nodes / (seconds today / (60*60*24)) / 1,000,000

  8. #8
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    114 Watts are very impressive for about 228 MNodes/s, impressiv!!
    For that output I'd need about 3 to 4 dualcore boxen, which need more Watts...
    How many cpu cores are working in such a box?
    Is it hard to setup a PS3 with linux?
    the-mk

  9. #9
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    so you can "multiboot" into both systems? YDL and PS3 "standard gaming mode"?
    If yes, I think I need to get such a box the next few days pre-christmas gift
    the-mk

  10. #10
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Yes, you can choose which OS is default. I have YDL as mine.
    Or you can hold some key in and tell it which OS you want to boot, like Apple's Boot Camp where you can choose which OSx or XP/Vista you want to boot up.
    If you are in PS3 mode, you can run Folding@Home as it has a native client for the PS3, play games or watch a Blueray DVD movie.
    In linux mode, you can run dnet, ps3grid http://www.ps3grid.net or http://www.ps3grid.net/PS3GRID/PS3cl...nt_ps3grid.tgz boinc client

  11. #11
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    Each PS3 w/YDL gets

    21.09T or 223.32 Mnodes/sec or 21,087 Gnodes
    per day

  12. #12
    Senior Member paleseptember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Posts
    290
    Those are some impressive numbers Especially at ~140Watts. Makes my power-guzzling quadcore look pale in comparison!

  13. #13
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    might be the last question before I buy one: how about noise in full cpu load like d.net ogr?
    the-mk

  14. #14
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    While running YDL and dnet, you can't hear anything from 3'.
    If it's on the floor, and you are standing over it, I doubt you will hear anything.
    At 2', I'm not sure if I'm hearing it or the fan on the TV or A/V equipment.
    If I stick my ear right up on it, I know there is a fan slowly moving warm air out the back.
    If you run Folding@Home in PS3 mode, I could hear the fan from 6' away and I believe it was running much hotter as it was doing a screen saver thing showing where all the other PS3s around the globe are located and making stupid wind noises. (thankfully you can mute the sound)
    It silently runs YDL and dnet client - runs 7 rc5 blocks at one time.
    You won't be disappointed - get the 40gb model with extended 2 year warranty because it will be running 24/7.
    Also, just read the 40gb model runs cooler and quieter than the other models.
    Go for it.!

  15. #15
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Quote Originally Posted by the-mk
    might be the last question before I buy one: how about noise in full cpu load like d.net ogr?
    Did you get it ?

  16. #16
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    No, I need time beside my work to drive to a store and buy it... maybe this week, or the next one, we'll see
    the-mk

  17. #17
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    IronBits, can you add the most important info to a new thread and make it sticky? That would be nice!
    Thanks!
    BTW: today I bought one, I'm currently installing it...
    the-mk

  18. #18
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Excellent !

    Here is your sticky, if you find any other messages you want merged there, let me know.
    http://www.free-dc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12726

  19. #19
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    After accomplishing the task of installing YDL on the PS3, I ran first tests of the client on it
    [root@localhost dnetc]# ./dnetc -bench OGR-P2

    distributed.net client for Linux Copyright 1997-2006, distributed.net
    RC5-72 Altivec and OGR assembly by Didier Levet
    RC5-72 and OGR SPE assembly by Decio Luiz Gazzoni Filho
    Please visit http://www.distributed.net/ for up-to-date contest information.


    dnetc v2.9015-504-CFR-07091806 for Linux (Linux 2.6.16-20070425.ydl.3ps3).
    Please provide the *entire* version descriptor when submitting bug reports.
    The distributed.net bug report pages are at http://www.distributed.net/bugs/
    Using email address (distributed.net ID) 'the_mk@gmx.at'

    [Nov 30 03:25:20 UTC] Automatic processor type detection found
    a Cell Broadband Engine processor.
    [Nov 30 03:25:20 UTC] OGR-P2: using core #0 (KOGE 2.0 Scalar).
    [Nov 30 03:25:39 UTC] OGR-P2: Benchmark for core #0 (KOGE 2.0 Scalar)
    0.00:00:16.60 [13,681,606 nodes/sec]
    [Nov 30 03:25:39 UTC] OGR-P2: using core #1 (KOGE 2.0 Hybrid).
    [Nov 30 03:25:57 UTC] OGR-P2: Benchmark for core #1 (KOGE 2.0 Hybrid)
    0.00:00:16.22 [17,414,095 nodes/sec]
    [Nov 30 03:25:57 UTC] OGR-P2: using core #2 (Cell v1 SPE).
    [Nov 30 03:26:16 UTC] OGR-P2: Benchmark for core #2 (Cell v1 SPE)
    0.00:00:16.07 [36,618,752 nodes/sec]
    to me it looks like core #2 is the best choice, but why does the client use #1 when starting it up?? What core do you use IB?

    BTW: it is nice to have 7 cpu-cores doing work

    the-mk

  20. #20
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    It's all on auto pilot, I haven't changed or done anything to the client configs or the YDL OS configs. plug and play.
    Yes, 7 cores is what I see running as well.
    To get to your PS3 node, use SSH from a PC. All you need to know is the PS3's IP addy, which you should be able to get from your DHCP Server(broadband router)

  21. #21
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    21.56 T
    22.20 T
    21.12 T
    21.62 T
    21.63 T
    21.09 T
    20.71 T
    -------
    149.92 T Nodes Total

  22. #22
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Q6600@2.8 GHz averages ~169 Mnodes/sec, that's 14.6T per day.

  23. #23
    stirring.... meep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    472
    Urm too tempting, all in a tidy little package that I may use for games/films in the future...

    1 ordered, linux install following IB's awesome guide could be tomorrow evening


  24. #24
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Q6600@2.9 GHz averages ~178 Mnodes/sec, that's 15.4T per day.

  25. #25
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    At what cost in electricity to run 24/7?
    Go meep!
    Thanks to BlisteringSheeps help, I finally got SIMAP to run on the other processor DNET doesn't use in the PS3.

  26. #26
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    Quote Originally Posted by IronBits View Post
    At what cost in electricity to run 24/7?
    For me it's free!!

    Carlos

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •