Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 75

Thread: IronBits has a new PS3 Pharm

  1. #1
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    IronBits has a new PS3 Pharm

    Just wanted to share a picture of the new pharmage of carnage for Free-DC.
    40gb model - ain't they purdy?

  2. #2
    Braggart! ..........................

  3. #3
    Senior Member paleseptember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Posts
    290
    Words fail me. They honestly do. I mean.. whaa...

    *silence*

    *sighs* I feel totally out-classed in every way, shape, and form imaginable. You, sir, are freaking incredible. Feel free to bask in your glory, I am truly envious.

  4. #4
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Well, I wasn't going to say anything, but then I was reminded of the good ole days when we wanted PICS!!! of everything.
    No reason to feel that way. It's all good for the Team! We all do what we can, when we can, and have FUN doing it.
    Unless of course somone were not part of our great Free-DC team and saw them, then maybe would be a more likely response...

    I was gonna stop at 4, but then I saw the 3 empty 10/100/1000 ports on the switch, and it just didn't seem right, so went and finished up what I started.
    What you don't see in the picture is my trusty little ole Mac Mini G4 1.45GHz being used as the pproxy server to keep them beasts fed a steady diet of DNET work.

    Just trying to do my share to help out my fellow teammates here at Free-DC.

    Go Team Go !!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member paleseptember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Posts
    290
    Yes, it is all for the good of the team. Doesn't stop me feeling like I've been blown out of the water.

    Focusing on RC-72 or OGR-25, or a steady mix of both? Even if it's a mix, I think the Free-DC OGR numbers are going to be quite a bit more impressive.

    Nice work! I wish I was in a position to look at my router and think, 'you know, those ports look lonely' and be able to do something about it.

  6. #6
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by IronBits
    I was gonna stop at 4, but then I saw the 3 empty 10/100/1000 ports on the switch, and it just didn't seem right, so went and finished up what I started.
    I know what you mean
    the-mk

  7. #7
    You know, that switch is sure looking awfully lonely there by itself.... it needs another switch to talk to...................

  8. #8
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    ~20T * 7 = ~140T/day


  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by the-mk
    I know what you mean
    Im not going 2 do that.... i have a 24-way Cisco 1 GB Switch..... thats 2 expensive even for me

    But great farm Ironbits !! very nice!!

  10. #10
    Downsized Chinasaur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    1,847
    Oh man..just like the old days!!

    Boxen Pr0n!!!!!

    on IB

    Agent Smith was right!: "I hate this place. This zoo. This prison. This reality, whatever you want to call it, I can't stand it any longer. It's the smell! If there is such a thing. I feel saturated by it. I can taste your stink and every time I do, I fear that I've somehow been infected by it."

  11. #11
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by [NGS]Cpt00Kirk
    Im not going 2 do that.... i have a 24-way Cisco 1 GB Switch..... thats 2 expensive even for me

    But great farm Ironbits !! very nice!!
    Not everybody owns a 24-way Cisco
    But yes, it would be a little expensive...
    the-mk

  12. #12
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Wow... just WOW!!!
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  13. #13
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    RC 5 stats first

    Stats from my own personal proxy
    3312 PS3
    3294 PS3
    3304 PS3
    3302 PS3
    3301 PS3
    3284 PS3
    3279 PS3
    0297 MacMini
    23,373 Blocks Total

    Tomorrow OGR

  14. #14
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Quote Originally Posted by Chinasaur
    Oh man..just like the old days!!

    Boxen Pr0n!!!!!

    on IB

    Speaking of pr0n
    Colin's old pharm that I bought when he retired


    One of my old pharms


    Remember the old PS Y splitters my brother TeeJay made for me so I could run two mobos on one Power Supply?


    Here is how they worked


    Which allowed me to create this beutiful rack of 10 PXE nodes - thanks to PCZ's assistance


  15. #15
    Damn, very impressive IB. With any DC project that has a fast client for the PS3, that is surely the least expensive way to build a pharm. Nice.

  16. #16
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    Today I bought one too
    I need to set it up, then the fun begins! maybe not 24/7, but I think I'll like its output...
    the-mk

  17. #17
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Quote Originally Posted by IronBits
    Stats from my own personal proxy
    3312 PS3
    3294 PS3
    3304 PS3
    3302 PS3
    3301 PS3
    3284 PS3
    3279 PS3
    0297 MacMini
    23,373 Blocks Total

    Tomorrow OGR
    .19.34 T
    .19.25 T
    .19.95 T
    .19.60 T
    .19.99 T
    .19.80 T
    .19.66 T
    --------
    137.58 T Nodes Total

    And for my buddy Bok, that comes out to 138,338 Gnodes per day

  18. #18
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Quote Originally Posted by the-mk
    Today I bought one too
    I need to set it up, then the fun begins! maybe not 24/7, but I think I'll like its output...
    Excellent!

  19. #19
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Soooo, what projects are PS3'd? (sorry if this is me being lazy)

    I'm getting a quad-core within the next few weeks but maybe, just maybe I should get a couple PS3s instead? I have to say, it certainly *looks* appealing. (aka IronBits is the coolest person in the world in Jeff's mind at least...)
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  20. #20
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    There is a project called PS3GRID that also has a Boinc client
    http://www.ps3grid.net

    Folding@Home has a project
    http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandeg...g/FAQ-PS3.html

    Not too many at the moment, but seeing that the PS3 only came out about a year ago, it's looking promising.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7074547.stm

    Do a little google work and see what's going on around you

  21. #21
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    I'm still configuring my PS3 with linux, better say: I still download YDL, since I downloaded the wrong one yesterday, which didn't install I'm continuing today in the evening (since it is 6:30 am in Austria and I need to go to work )
    the-mk

  22. #22
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    It takes about 1 hour for YDL to install.
    It is a full installation with all the bells and whistles, near as I can tell.
    It has email, firefox, office products, gimp etc.
    I only use the TEXT mode and fire up the client.

    If you boot Linux, after a few seconds there's a prompt to enter boot options.
    You'll see:

    kboot:

    If you don't enter something, Linux will be booted.
    But if you enter

    boot-game-os<enter>

    the PS3 OS will be booted...

    In general these are two useful tips:
    1) Pressing and keeping pressed the off button for few seconds switches off the PS3.
    2) Pressing the on button for few seconds when the PS3 is already off will boot the game os.

    I don't know if there's an easier way to boot the PS3 OS...

    Also, I guess there is a Boinc SIMAP client for PS3

    SETI and SIMAP has applications for the PS3. And both projects must have the application(s) installed manualy.

    The thread in the SETI forums : http://setiathome.berkeley.edu/forum...d.php?id=39910

    And at the SIMAP download page : http://boinc.bio.wzw.tum.de/boincsimap/appdownloads.php

  23. #23
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks for the infor IB!
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  24. #24
    Administrator Dyyryath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,850
    You haven't changed a bit, IB.
    "So utterly at variance is destiny with all the little plans of men." - H.G. Wells

  25. #25
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    damn download client... still didn't finish the iso download... it can only be a couple of hours....

    BTW: nice to see you again Dyy!
    the-mk

  26. #26
    IronBits: Please do tell - what is the total power consumption of that setup when it's at full load?

  27. #27
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    113 watts x 7 = 931 watts when running dnet clients.

  28. #28
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    Updated pharm pr0n

    Thanks for all the comments.
    I moved the PS3 pharmage out of the spare bedroom to the family room for better ventilation and dispersement of warm air to the whole house.
    Thought you might enjoy seeing what they look like all on the top shelf of my book case from the kitchen's perspective.


  29. #29
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    Better ventilation? Aren't they stacked a bit close to each other?

    I give all my current gen consoles a hell of a lot more air space than that.

  30. #30
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Spacing them closely like that causes no problem for them to get enough fresh air through their intakes.
    Being on their sides, they get cool air from along the right front edge and top side.
    The warm air is exhausted out the back and because of the angle they are placed at,
    it forces the warm air to move down the wall to the left as it rises, so no heat can wrap around to the front.
    The ceiling is 18' high along that wall and that room has over 1,000 sq/ft of open space, so I don't believe it will cause any problems.
    I'll keep an eye on it tho, thanks for the warning.

  31. #31
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    oh I recently added 3 more PS3s



  32. #32
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    IB
    How much are you paying for the PS3's ?
    Must admit to being tempted to start pharming them myself.
    40GB is 300 quid in the UK.

  33. #33
    Peaches Moogie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Peachville
    Posts
    2,463
    Blog Entries
    3


    Wow! Just wow!





    irc.aknarra.net #lobby
    irc.free-dc.org #free-dc

  34. #34
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I'm paying $399 + tax = $435.19 - but then you get 5 free Blue Ray DVD movies, from a very limited selection, and only one offer per house.

    Euro Exchange Rate U.S.Dollar
    300 Jan 251.4722 441.6597

  35. #35
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518
    I get one here for 200 Euros...

    Ironbits, UK is out of Euro currency....English are a bit stubborn...

  36. #36
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    What's a euro ?
    Is it something those silly europeans use.

    Pounds Sterling please.

  37. #37

  38. #38
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    £230 or so.
    Bit cheaper than rip off Britain then

  39. #39
    Ancient Programmer Paratima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    West Central Florida
    Posts
    3,294

    Well...

    The Original British Monetary System
    Two farthings = One Ha’penny. Two ha’pennies = One Penny.
    Three pennies = A Thrupenny Bit. Two Thrupences = A Sixpence.
    Two Sixpences = One Shilling or Bob. Two Bob = A Florin.
    One Florin and one Sixpence = Half a Crown. Four Half Crowns = Ten Bob Note. Two Ten Bob Notes = One Pound (or 240 pennies). One Pound and One Shilling = One Guinea.

    The British resisted decimalized currency for a long time because they felt it was “too complicated”.

    -from the book "Good Omens" by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
    HOME: A physical construct for keeping rain off your computers.

  40. #40
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Paratima
    You forgot to mention that a sixpence was commonly known as a tanner.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •