Thread: Overclocking my Q9550 (on Maximus II Formula)

Question Overclocking my Q9550 (on Maximus II Formula)

First, I'm a newbie overclocker. Just to start off, I have been using the built-in ASUS CPU-Up feature to overclock my 2.8GHz CPU to 3.2GHz, it does all the settings for me.

When I run Prime95 Torture test the CPU goes up to 48C (118F). Does that seem reasonable to run 24/7 at? My MB, SB, and NB temps all seem about the same as before the overclock. The POWER temp is at 50C (122F).

Interestingly, when I run d.net OGR with 4 threads, the temp only goes up to 41C (105F) which seems very reasonable and POWER is 45C (113F). I haven't tried any other DC apps yet.

Also, a question about overclocking. So the CPU is now running at 3.2GHz, and according to CPU-Z, my FSB is now at 1504 MHz (376 x 8.5) which seems logical as you have to increase the FSB to overclock on these puppies. Now the Memory used to run at 533MHz, I don't remember what the FSBRAM setting was, but it is now using 451.2MHz at 5:6 for FSBRAM.

Does that mean my RAM is actually running slow than before even though my CPU is faster? So if I have memory intensive applications, they may be slower because the RAM is taking a speed hit?

Free-DC Semi-retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    I'm no overclocker myself but I it is possible to overclock the CPU and ram separately this is desirable if the system goes unstable due to the ram being overclocked too much which can happen , some ram makes are better for OC'ing than others, me personally I'd stick in ram that's rated for a faster FSB since it will underclock... or I'd leave the FSB on default and change the multiplier...
    memory intensive projects you would notice a hit depending on how intensive it was really, I suppose that would be any project that require large amounts of memory to be available to it at any one time.