Thread: Database Question

Database Question

This isn't really an OS question but this might be the best fit for it. You guys that are using databases for the FreeDC stats and other stuff (Bok, dp, any others?) I have some DB questions for you guys.

I'm trying to setup a DB for my PhD research. It only needs to have a few fields to store data every minute from patient monitors. But since there might be 16 patients at a time, I calculated that after roughly a year there will be over 4 billion records in the DB.

Since I have no experience with large DB like this, can free DB such as MySQL, MS SQL, Postgres, handle tables that size?

How many records are in the various FreeDC stats tables for example? The system running the DB is a Q6600 with 4GB RAM and XP 64bit. It will mostly just need to do INSERTs to store the data, and analysis and other processing would be done offline on a different system with exported data from it.

Thanks in advance.

Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Blog Entries
    Sure, they can handle that much data, no different to any of the Enterprise DB's like Oracle or DB2. You might want to think about your indexing very carefully potentially, perhaps with a year & period in it or something like that?. Hard to judge without knowing more.

In mysql you could use the merge tables where there are multiple tables, of the same structure, which appear as one. That way you can seperate the physical files.

Most records I have in a table right now on free-dc is the boinc_host_week table which holds basically snapshots of the hosts on a weekly basis. I've only been storing this info for 5 months or so and there is 115M rows there. Handles it just fine..

Bok

Free-DC Semi-retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    I can confirm that some of the table data is pretty big as well some of the updates if memory serves me correct are >4Mb so yeah MySQL will handle it fine.
    Just need to as bok said carefully index the sucker