Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 59

Thread: Orbit@Home has new work..

  1. #1
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,205
    Blog Entries
    13

    Orbit@Home has new work..

    We're creating about 300,000 WUs, the largest batch ever created on orbit@home. We will wait a few days to check how this goes trough, and if all goes fine, there will be several other similar large batches this month.

    This is real data, and the results will be presented at a meeting in October, and will be tested on real telescopes in mid-October. We plan to write about this in more detail on the front page soon.

    Enjoy!

  2. #2
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    I've got some with full speed ahead planed for Monday.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  3. #3
    BOINC Gypsy ChertseyAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, Englandshire
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigred View Post
    full speed ahead
    Good luck with that Seems to be out of disk space to upload results

    Credit seems pretty low on Windows hosts too. Also expect a lot of aborted WUs as it's running MQ=2 with IR=3

    Al.

  4. #4
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,205
    Blog Entries
    13
    yeah, got a load of wu's uploading right now, but I tend to just let it do it's thing. Unfortunately CAS@Home seems to have ran out of work too, hopefully not permanently as I'm close to 90K there and want my 100K MM! Oh well, perhaps a few Eon wu's in the meantime

  5. #5
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by ChertseyAl View Post
    Good luck with that Seems to be out of disk space to upload results

    Credit seems pretty low on Windows hosts too. Also expect a lot of aborted WUs as it's running MQ=2 with IR=3

    Al.
    I put several machines on it today and they all got a lot of work. I figure it should be back up sometime tomorrow since today is a holiday in the States.

    Low credit doesn't bother me since I make more than enough with the GPU projects. Also I'm still at #5 for total credit on Orbit.

    Since they will only abort before starting, it's not a problem.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  6. #6
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    It's working again.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  7. #7
    Ancient Haggis Hound Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle/Norfolk Island
    Posts
    828
    I'm pretty tickled to see this project finally doing some real work !

    BTW, where did all the smilies go? Don't see the big menu of them any more.

  8. #8
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigred View Post
    It's working again.
    Ya I see we jumped 13 seats today

    And Angus just click the Go Advanced button to get the Full editor

  9. #9
    Ancient Haggis Hound Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle/Norfolk Island
    Posts
    828
    Oh yeah, easy for you to say

    Every time I click that, I get logged out.


    laurenu2 - 40K in one update ?? !!!!! good grief. and you're probably just getting warmed up

  10. #10
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Angus View Post
    Oh yeah, easy for you to say

    Every time I click that, I get logged out.


    laurenu2 - 40K in one update ?? !!!!! good grief. and you're probably just getting warmed up
    That must be gopher putting out Booby traps

  11. #11
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    We seem to be moving along nicely. We're at #8 for RAC and #17 for total credit.

    Only about 200,000 WUs left in this batch so you better get them while you can.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  12. #12
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well if that be the case I Guess I should Turn on the other 20 Nodes that are still Off
    To suck there servers Dry

  13. #13
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,205
    Blog Entries
    13
    Hopefully I'll get to my 100K before you do suck their servers dry!

  14. #14
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    I'm not having any problems getting work or crunching it. This morning I noticed that I had a big problem returning work. All of my systems had a large backlog of work to upload. Mostly from Orbit but also some from WCG and CPDN. I have a slow internet connection there but I usually don't have a problem. Maybe I just had a really bad combination of projects. It took me half an hour to download my 4 new e-mails. While investigating what the problem was I found something I'd never seen before.

    The files to upload for Orbit are about 880k, the ones for CPDN are about 5.25mb and some of the ones for WCG are in excess of 40mb. Normally a file starts to upload and if there is a problem it stops and displays the status upload pending and at some point the upload will continue. With Orbit it is a little bit different. Let's say you have an upload that has stopped at about 70% or any other amount. I noticed that when the upload restarted it went back and started at 0%.

    I also believe the Orbit server is being hammered pretty good right now due to the almost constant Project Backoff status. BTW Milkyway and Collatz were not having any problems uploading. To solve my problem I set all projects to NNW and aborted any unstarted Orbit WUs. Hopefully the backlog of uploads will have cleared by Monday.

    BOK you can have my WUs for this weekend.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  15. #15
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    No Back-log here up or down I'm sucking up WU[s at near light speed
    Kicked in 10 More now and more later tonight
    Free -DC Might be board leader tomorrow with luck

  16. #16
    Ancient Haggis Hound Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle/Norfolk Island
    Posts
    828
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    No Back-log here up or down I'm sucking up WU[s at near light speed
    Kicked in 10 More now and more later tonight
    Free -DC Might be board leader tomorrow with luck
    I was going to point out that you weren't even showing in top 10 daily users

  17. #17
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Angus View Post
    I was going to point out that you weren't even showing in top 10 daily users
    I was 2nd in top output for the past 2 days
    I think you need to hit the refresh button

  18. #18
    Ancient Haggis Hound Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle/Norfolk Island
    Posts
    828
    Not having good luck with the new forum.

    It also looks the stats for Orbit don't update very often. Right now it shows no updates for today, either in the Last Update or Today columns. All zeros

  19. #19
    BOINC Gypsy ChertseyAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, Englandshire
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    I'm sucking up WU[s at near light speed
    Ah, that'll be why the server has run dry

    Oh well, it was nice while it lasted

    Al.
    Last edited by ChertseyAl; 09-12-2010 at 04:59 AM. Reason: I can't type straight on a Sunday morning!

  20. #20
    Ancient Haggis Hound Angus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle/Norfolk Island
    Posts
    828
    But there is more coming

    From Pasquale -
    We are very pleased of the outcome of this batch. A new, similar batch of WUs is being prepared and should be issued in the next 48 hours.

  21. #21
    Senior Member Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    406
    Blog Entries
    2
    Gang,
    I have 20 more new Opty cores which I can add to this and I'm now on an ADSL2+ (25Mb/1Mb) line (which is good for 30Mb). Shall I power them up or just stay with the laprock? The Opties are all FC-12 x86_64. Where's the best place to apply them... I am relocating to Michigan and will NEED the extra warmth.

    PS: It's nice to be back.
    PPS: I have, once again, forgotten how to get the stats config tool properly set. If an admin would be kind enough to 'un-****' it for me, i would be most grateful. I tried to add the new Eon, but believe I buggered it up. (Please send me a PM to let me know what I got wrong... I think I used the username where the User Number or CPID is required.... eitherway, the FDC stats page has me correct... All this fuss for a simple Signature block.

    Cheers,
    C.
    Last edited by Chuck; 09-12-2010 at 06:17 PM. Reason: forgot a piece of info.




    A FDC in training, fellow supporter of Firefox.

    Proudly crunching with AMD & ATI power.
    If you want The Best you must forget the Rest
    >>>>>>>>>and join Free-DC<<<<<<<<<<<

  22. #22
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
    Gang,
    I have 20 more new Opty cores which I can add to this and I'm now on an ADSL2+ (25Mb/1Mb) line (which is good for 30Mb). Shall I power them up or just stay with the laprock? The Opties are all FC-12 x86_64. Where's the best place to apply them... I am relocating to Michigan and will NEED the extra warmth.

    Cheers,
    C.
    In my opinion Orbit is one of the more worthwhile projects. It is just coming back after a long downtime and it remains to be seen how reliable it is. Ultimately it up to you to decide what to crunch. Just make sure you setup a backup project or two.

    If you really want to generate some heat (and credit too) put some ATI GPUs (38xx, 48xx, 58xx) in those boxes and join us over at Milkyway.

    My upload backlog has cleared and it is full speed ahead again. Now if Orbit just had some more work.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  23. #23
    Senior Member Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    406
    Blog Entries
    2

    Talking

    I hope some WUs get here soon, else there will be no reason to power up the Opties. The laprock (also FC-12 X86_64) has more than enough IDLE time to handle both Orbit & Eon........

    LAUREN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    PS: care to Proxy out a few to us 'mortals' ????




    A FDC in training, fellow supporter of Firefox.

    Proudly crunching with AMD & ATI power.
    If you want The Best you must forget the Rest
    >>>>>>>>>and join Free-DC<<<<<<<<<<<

  24. #24
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
    Gang,

    PPS: I have, once again, forgotten how to get the stats config tool properly set. If an admin would be kind enough to 'un-****' it for me, i would be most grateful. I tried to add the new Eon, but believe I buggered it up. (Please send me a PM to let me know what I got wrong... I think I used the username where the User Number or CPID is required.... eitherway, the FDC stats page has me correct... All this fuss for a simple Signature block.

    Cheers,
    C.
    If you're still trying to get a stats signature there is an easy way. Go here and find your name in the team list. Click on your name and it will bring up your stats. In the summary section, at the bottom there is an item called Combined Signature. Copy the web address and insert it as an image in your signature.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  25. #25
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hiya Chuck
    I see your back from your walk-a-bout
    WELCOME Back
    It is like Bigred said We are Chipping away over on Milky-way and here on Orbit for now
    But you know my Pharm and how It can suck servers dry fast
    So get them WU's when you can and have a 2nd project ready

  26. #26
    Senior Member Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    406
    Blog Entries
    2
    Lauren,
    Thanks. I have been sitting on Orbit and gotten NOTHING all day. Did you drain them dry? If so, are your queues full? If so, then perhaps I can turn on the main Optie rack (16 cores) and get some work done??????? :grin: Or should I *try* (as futile as it might be) to steal some from you via the scheduler ????? My DSL is pretty idle. My efforts for the past 24 hours have been to help keep us from losing ground on eOn2 and watch as it stabilizes. According to the forums, they are about to make the appropriate changes and let some serious WUs out of the stall.
    So, in the mean time, shall I sit and wait for table scraps on Orbit or put the other 90% of the laptop to work? (the laptop is ONLY a C2D V2 and it's the ONLY Intel in operation.) When I say 'put the laptop to work' I am literally talking about getting the load factor above 1.0 and KEEPING it there.... I would really enjoy seeing a 2.05 running constantly. I have the disk space (3.75T) and 4G of ram.... and a very hungry x86_64 build. I was running robotic (machine vision in 3D) and nuclear apps on this for a while with NO trouble AND able to watch 1080p movies with no visible impact... Yeah, it's a good little machine just has a cheap main HD (Toshiba) that will be replaced when I VM all of Windows.
    As soon as I get settled in my new home I will upgrade the graphics to CUDAs and help out in the SERIOUS way! They are due for some good GPU chaining in each machine. (it will help with the 3-D vision tasks as well.
    Lastly, the other 2 boxen will get their H/W upgrades and be 16 cores each. That should suffice for a while. I HOPE that will help keep the house warm in Michigan (Frazier area).

    C

    PS: I'm going to get my account established on Milky Way, but don't expect much for now. I'm staying with the laptop to minimize WU waste. I don't want to mess things up when I relo this week and have to wait until the weekend to get power & network all set up.
    Last edited by Chuck; 09-13-2010 at 10:40 PM. Reason: forgot something




    A FDC in training, fellow supporter of Firefox.

    Proudly crunching with AMD & ATI power.
    If you want The Best you must forget the Rest
    >>>>>>>>>and join Free-DC<<<<<<<<<<<

  27. #27
    Senior Member Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    406
    Blog Entries
    2
    Ok,
    I'm on MilkyWay..... But, wait until I get settled please before busting my chops for low output....

    C




    A FDC in training, fellow supporter of Firefox.

    Proudly crunching with AMD & ATI power.
    If you want The Best you must forget the Rest
    >>>>>>>>>and join Free-DC<<<<<<<<<<<

  28. #28
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
    Ok,
    I'm on MilkyWay..... But, wait until I get settled please before busting my chops for low output....

    C
    We would never do that. We need all the help we can get. If you want to maximize output I would suggest using ATI cards instead of Nvidia. A single 5850 will generate over 100,000 credits a day on MW.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  29. #29
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
    Ok,
    I'm on MilkyWay..... But, wait until I get settled please before busting my chops for low output....

    C
    No way what fun would that be If we Did Not You to them puppy's

  30. #30
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigred View Post
    We would never do that. We need all the help we can get. If you want to maximize output I would suggest using ATI cards instead of Nvidia. A single 5850 will generate over 100,000 credits a day on MW.
    Speak for your self Big_R I like Chuck
    But Big-R is right GPU is the way to go in M.W.
    My 400 GHz Pharm was out done by 2 4870 ati Gpu's
    So I do orbit and others with the CPU's and MW with the GPU's

  31. #31
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    No way what fun would that be If we Did Not You to them puppy's
    Just thought you'd like to know that you've slipped off the Boinc Top 100 List.


    Maybe you should get those hamsters back on thier little wheels.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  32. #32
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    You got to factor in I had no output for a month Due to lack of time and heat here.
    Like they say What Was Once Will Be Again

  33. #33
    Senior Member Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    406
    Blog Entries
    2
    It MAY be again, but I placed an order today for two ATI GPUs. I will start with a controlled 'test case'. If all goes well, I'll just keep adding them until the CPUs are happy.

    Granted, you will still have 'THE PHARM", but I'll definitely be 'more current'.... it's time these nVidia GPUs retire to just handling the real 1080p. :P

    I don't know of any Linux limit and couldn't find any in the driver code, does anyone know of undocumented limits (FC-12 , x86_64)?

    The only limit I know of is DC power and slots AND BIG FANS to keep it all cool. (which is typical with nVidia GTX boxen and kilowatt+ power supplies)

    PS: A friendly is always welcome.... it shows we have a REAL team!!!
    Last edited by Chuck; 09-14-2010 at 06:48 PM.




    A FDC in training, fellow supporter of Firefox.

    Proudly crunching with AMD & ATI power.
    If you want The Best you must forget the Rest
    >>>>>>>>>and join Free-DC<<<<<<<<<<<

  34. #34
    Senior Member Chuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    406
    Blog Entries
    2
    BigRed,
    Perhaps we should teach Lauren how to OC his machines??????

    Nah, scrap that.... let's just get him to 'UP THE VOLTAGE'




    A FDC in training, fellow supporter of Firefox.

    Proudly crunching with AMD & ATI power.
    If you want The Best you must forget the Rest
    >>>>>>>>>and join Free-DC<<<<<<<<<<<

  35. #35
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    What do you mean VOLTAGE When I turn on my pharm My light Dimm
    Oh Heck the whole block Dimms

  36. #36
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigred View Post
    Maybe you should get those hamsters back on thier little wheels.
    Bigred look around

  37. #37
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by Chuck View Post
    BigRed,
    Perhaps we should teach Lauren how to OC his machines??????

    Nah, scrap that.... let's just get him to 'UP THE VOLTAGE'
    While I'm sure we could teach him to OC it is mostly a futile task anymore. I think I need to give you the same lession I gave Lauren about GPUs. If you took one of your Optys and OCed it 10%, how much credit would it earn? I can take an old Semp 2400 and put an ATI 5850 in it and earn about 120,000 credits a day without anything running on the CPU. In fact if I ran anything on the CPU the GPU credit would be reduced by more than the CPU makes. I've just gotten Lauren started good on this and he still has plenty of PCIe slots left ot fill.

    BTW which ATIs did you order?
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  38. #38
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    What do you mean VOLTAGE When I turn on my pharm My light Dimm
    Oh Heck the whole block Dimms
    Didn't you get that portable nuclear power plant installed in your back yard yet?
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  39. #39
    Old Fart Bigred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Wiesbaden
    Posts
    728
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    Bigred look around
    I've heard that one before and you still haven't caught me.





    BTW Orbit has work again.
    19 primes found. The largest: 1351*2^617684+1 (185945 digits)

  40. #40
    New batch out!

    Kinda like this project since my old Opty 175 @2.4 on an old dying Asrock mATX board in Linux is more than twice as fast as an i7 on Windows
    (one has to be kind to that normally not used box, sometimes it decides to quit or don't want to start )


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •