Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 55

Thread: Client Update?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Near Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    106

    Question Client Update?

    The news section says something about a protein change - although we're testing a new algorithm.

    So here my question:

    Will there be an protein or a client update? An update of both doesn't seem senseful to me.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    96
    Just a protein change. The new client is still in beta test.

  3. #3
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Mine is hanging trying to get new protein...
    I've stuck the -i f switch in there for awhile until I figure out what's going on...
    Some say it's the beta client
    * Most recent client version released February 25, 2003
    ** Most recent screensaver version released February 25, 2003
    Most recent daemon version released January 31, 2003

  4. #4
    TeAm AnandTech Insidious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Posts
    96
    Mine were hung for a while..

    (can't communicate with server... or some such message in error.log)

    but now they are uploading results fine.... However, dfGUI is still showing 96 for the protien size, so I am not updated????

    -Sid

    ERROR: [777.000] {ncbi_socket.c, line 910} [SOCK::s_Connect] Failed pending connect to bar.csh.rit.edu:80 (Unknown)
    ERROR: [777.000] {ncbi_connutil.c, line 526} [URL_Connect] Socket connect to bar.csh.rit.edu:80 failed: Unknown
    ERROR: [777.000] {ncbi_http_connector.c, line 117} [HTTP] Retry attempt(s) exhausted, giving up
    ERROR: [000.000] {foldtrajlite.c, line 1195} Unable to check update file length
    ERROR: [000.000] {foldtrajlite.c, line 1497} Unable to retrieve update file list
    ERROR: [010.003] {taskapi.c, line 1199} [ReadServerResponse] Timeout waiting for response, got 0 chars.
    ERROR: [000.000] {foldtrajlite.c, line 1604} Unable to retrieve update file
    Last edited by Insidious; 02-25-2003 at 06:31 PM.
    ~~~~ Just Passin' Through ~~~~

  5. #5
    Fixer of Broken Things FoBoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Holden MO
    Posts
    2,137
    i got the beta when i downloaded "distribfold-current-win9x.zip"

    i can't hit the beta site "beta.distribfold.org"

    Use the right tool for the right job!

  6. #6
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    2 unix boxes show 89AA is the protein.
    I saw "Server down for protein switchover" or something like that.
    Use the -i f switch and it will keep crunching

  7. #7
    Boinc'ing away
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    982
    Originally posted by FoBoT
    i got the beta when i downloaded "distribfold-current-win9x.zip"

    i can't hit the beta site "beta.distribfold.org"

    same here - when downloading the client from the main download page I get the new protein but the beta client...looks like folding is off on a few machines for the moment



    edit- oh well, looks like the screensaver is OK so I'll run that on the few until the Text client download is fixed...
    Last edited by pfb; 02-25-2003 at 06:58 PM.

  8. #8
    When I run the new text client, I've this error :
    ERROR: [000.000] {taskapi.c, line 586} Invalid argument: -s
    FATAL ERROR: [000.000] {foldtrajlite2.c, line 5190} Missing/Invalid arguments. For usage, run program, with no arguments.
    I'm running WinXP on a AMD 1400Mhz.

  9. #9
    Hum, sorry, I have found the problem !
    It's a bug with Distributed Folding GUY 2.1 when you configure more than 5000 units for upload frequency.

    But the server is always down... I can't run the client ^^

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Netherlands, Europe
    Posts
    2
    Anyone a good mirror for me, cause it's going real slow here in Holland ?!?!?!
    :shocked:
    Teamleader of Team Gl [NL] subteam of Dutch Power Cows

  11. #11
    TeAm AnandTech Insidious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Posts
    96

    onyx
    shutdown your computer, disable your interconnection, then start back up. If you want DF to continue crunching. You can re-connect your internet after it is running and it will keep crunching and saving results until the server is back.

    -Sid
    ~~~~ Just Passin' Through ~~~~

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Barbara CA
    Posts
    355
    Originally posted by Onyx
    Hum, sorry, I have found the problem !
    It's a bug with Distributed Folding GUY 2.1 when you configure more than 5000 units for upload frequency.

    But the server is always down... I can't run the client ^^
    If you are seeing it complain because it doesn't like the -s switch, that sounds like you have the beta client. If you still had the old client you could run with a -if switch and it won't look for the server, you just have to remove that switch later in order to upload.

  13. #13
    I upload the Text client on my FTP Here

  14. #14
    The beta client ??? I've download the new client 5 minutes ago...

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Barbara CA
    Posts
    355
    Originally posted by Onyx
    The beta client ??? I've download the new client 5 minutes ago...
    There are rumours that the distribfold-current-win9x.zip actually contains the new protein but the beta client. I know the -s switch doesn't work on the beta program.

  16. #16
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    If you see this

    Does this mean it's a beta?

  17. #17
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I think this new client broke DFGUI

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Barbara CA
    Posts
    355
    Originally posted by IronBits
    If you see this

    Does this mean it's a beta?
    That is a sure-fire sign of the beta.

  19. #19
    Fixer of Broken Things FoBoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Holden MO
    Posts
    2,137
    Originally posted by IronBits
    If you see this

    Does this mean it's a beta?
    yes, that is the beta and dfGUI no worky with the beta

    i just downloaded it again from a different DSL line and i got the same 6622177 byte file

    i emailed howard, but he must have gone home for the day

    anybody have his cell phone number?!!?!?







    Use the right tool for the right job!

  20. #20
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    darn. That's what I downloaded from your ftp site.
    Still downloading the client from the official site, let ya know what I get there.

  21. #21
    TeAm AnandTech Insidious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Posts
    96
    yepperz, that's the Beta!

    (If you manually d/l'd the update, you got the beta)

    pronounced: The Wrong File!
    ~~~~ Just Passin' Through ~~~~

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Barbara CA
    Posts
    355
    If you manually download the windows version you get the beta. If you replace the foldtrajlite.exe in the new download with the foldtrajlite.exe in your current folder everything works.

    The beta one is 2848 KB, the one that you want is 1316 KB.

  23. #23
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    When you start it up, it says
    (500 until next generation, 0 generations buffered)
    First clue it's beta...

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Santa Barbara CA
    Posts
    355
    If someone can put just the old executable on an ftp site or something I can email them a copy.

    clint(at)rasy.com

    But I don't really want to email a copy to 200 people.

  25. #25
    Fixer of Broken Things FoBoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Holden MO
    Posts
    2,137
    Originally posted by Welnic
    If you manually download the windows version you get the beta. If you replace the foldtrajlite.exe in the new download with the foldtrajlite.exe in your current folder everything works.

    The beta one is 2848 KB, the one that you want is 1316 KB.
    aww! that should work, its worth a try since howard has already gone to bed for the night! :sleepy:
    Use the right tool for the right job!

  26. #26
    OCworkbench Stats Ho
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    519
    Man this suxorz..only 1 computer auto updated correctly. One downloaded the file but the unpack failed to find the update file in folder..yes it is there. Other PC just said it worked..NOT. The final one just completed the download but did not install anything but deleted the update. What has Howard been drinking today

  27. #27
    TeAm AnandTech Insidious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Posts
    96
    nevermind
    ~~~~ Just Passin' Through ~~~~

  28. #28
    Ancient Programmer Paratima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    West Central Florida
    Posts
    3,296
    BTW, if you've already started running it, you need to delete the .bz2 files (except rotlib.bz2), and filelist.txt, 'cause the server won't accept them.

    BTW#2, the Linux client seems to be running fine.

  29. #29
    TeAm AnandTech Insidious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Posts
    96
    I just gave it up....

    I'll re-install a copy of the current client tomorrow and try it
    again....

    ~~~~ Just Passin' Through ~~~~

  30. #30
    Ol' retired IT geezer
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    92

    Thumbs up W2K Autoupdate OK

    First attempt at autoupdate failed on both Linux and W2K.
    2nd attempt by w2k worked and I got new
    native.val
    protein.trj
    ..
    All seems well.

    Ned

  31. #31
    Fixer of Broken Things FoBoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Holden MO
    Posts
    2,137
    i think he is fixing it, the site seems to be back down
    Use the right tool for the right job!

  32. #32
    OCworkbench Stats Ho
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    519
    To err is human, to err lots means you work in Redmond

  33. #33
    Hi all, just a few minor quirks, nothing to get your panties in a bunch about though

    First, our usual download mirror site was down due to hardware troubles so everyone was sucking bandwidth from the hospital only (so updating may have taken a bit longer/more tries). Also, it appears the Windows and linux-i386 files on the FTP site (i.e. if you go to the Download page on the web site and click them) included the incorrect executables (the Beta versions as you pointed out). This is fixed now (as of 11:20PM EST) so if you downloaded the incorrect copy, please try again now (make sure your browser doesn't cache the download and it really re-downloads it). If unsure, run 'foldtrajlite' from the command line with no arguments. the date on the first line should be Jan 31. If instead it is a date in Feb., you have the beta.

    If your machine auto-updated you won't have this problem. Sorry for any trouble this may have caused.

    Also the beta.distirbutedfolding.org site was down for a bit for those of you doing beta testing, but this is back up and working fine now too.
    Howard Feldman

  34. #34
    Fixer of Broken Things FoBoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Holden MO
    Posts
    2,137
    thank you, i knew you weren't asleep, yet

    Use the right tool for the right job!

  35. #35
    Senior Member KWSN_Millennium2001Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Worked 2 years in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Posts
    205
    I currently can't get to the www.distributedfolding.org webpage.

  36. #36
    Fixer of Broken Things FoBoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Holden MO
    Posts
    2,137
    yeah, how "up" is it?

    i can't hit it yet, kick it in gear so i can go home!

    i can ping it, but no port 80 action going on or something

    i know, i will break out my trusty port scanner
    Use the right tool for the right job!

  37. #37
    Senior Member KWSN_Millennium2001Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Worked 2 years in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Posts
    205
    My entire farm is down. I can't kill the client (it runs as an NT service). The executable that is running is dated 2003/02/25 11:14 PM and all files are from that build/zip file. When I execute the command
    netsvc /stop \\computername "Distributed Folding Project Service"
    the service HANGS and will not shut down. The only way to kill it is to reboot the computer.

    I will reboot the farm and try again tomorrow.

  38. #38
    Ancient Programmer Paratima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    West Central Florida
    Posts
    3,296
    Originally posted by KWSN_Millennium2001Guy
    The only way to kill it is to reboot the computer.
    I was able to kill it with Task Manager (Win2K).

  39. #39
    Senior Member KWSN_Millennium2001Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Worked 2 years in Aliso Viejo, CA
    Posts
    205
    When I tried to use task manager to kill foldtrajlite.ex I got the message "access denied"

    This is not good.

  40. #40
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    This is starting out very badly... 12 hours after the *official release*
    It must really be tuff for you LARGE pharmers out there
    It's a PITA for me
    Can't get the client, winders type clients that are running, are hanging trying to get the update. Can't manually download the client and just pass it around to all the computers etc. AND it's a slower protein to
    I also see my clients cacheing WUs.
    I think my panties are beginning to bunch up back there

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •