Results 1 to 40 of 54

Thread: Stats are down

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,657
    Blog Entries
    13

    Stats are down

    I'm getting drive errors on one of the SSD drives in the database server. Going to remote unmount it and fsck it and see if that fixes it..

    Not been having much luck with hardware recently.

  2. #2
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    Not been having much luck with hardware recently.
    Do you need a sister site haha I know I'm bad

  3. #3
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,657
    Blog Entries
    13
    Think I need a miracle It's not responding so it's going to be down for a while. I do have one spare SSD which I'll plug in over the weekend when I get home and see what can be done.

  4. #4
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Does the server work with a Raid so there is a backup copy ?

  5. #5
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,657
    Blog Entries
    13
    RAID slows it down too much and it's not that great with SSD's anyway.

    I do my own custom replication instead. Backups are on separate drives. This is the web facing database anyway which is read only, so it's 'mostly' duplicated from the main one. Means it gets LOTS of writes though and I guess it's finally taken it's toll.

  6. #6
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Have you looked into the pciE drives at all there faster and have more capacity

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    Means it gets LOTS of writes though and I guess it's finally taken it's toll.
    A write-caching program can cut down on writes by an order of magnitude or more. I have used both FancyCache (Romex Software) and PerfectCache 5.0 (Raxco), and they both give very good results for limiting the writes to my SSD when I run the CEP2 project on World Community Grid. Writes will typically go from 80 GB/day down to less than 1 GB/day, but that depends a lot on the statistics of what you are doing of course, and the size of the DRAM cache you set.

    FancyCache is currently in Beta (free 90 day trial), and PefectCache 5.0 is $80 (30 day free trial), but well worth it if you have the right situation.

  8. #8
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    Think I need a miracle It's not responding so it's going to be down for a while. I do have one spare SSD which I'll plug in over the weekend when I get home and see what can be done.
    Any Update yet

  9. #9
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,657
    Blog Entries
    13
    I only got home a few hours ago after travelling overnight, afraid to look at it right now when I'm still so tired. I *think* statstool is gone unless I can recover the drive though as well as a few other things, possibly historical miestones too. It looks like the backups were failing for the last 10 days or so and I didn't get warned. I only keep last 5 days.

  10. #10
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    looks like it got your Sig to
    Well if you need off line storage
    I have over 20 Terabytes of open space here

  11. #11
    Stats on the Main Page are totally Boked errr Borked lol this morning ...

  12. #12
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,657
    Blog Entries
    13
    Amazingly, when I woke up this morning. A 2nd SSD is exhibiting exactly the same behavior as the last one.

    Its not the new one I put in, but surely this can't be a coincidence? And more likely points to a motherboard problem. I do not know what to do a this stage. I have one more SSD I could cannibalize from anoter machine, but my head tells me the machine itself is a problem now. I'll plug in the first failed SSD to another linux machine and see if it exhibits any errors at all.

  13. #13
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    Yeah Bok, Have to say that is pointing at a H/ware controller error - shame you don't got an SATA PCI card see if it's the controller or the whole mobo...
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

  14. #14
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Can you boot to DOS off a flopy and run scandisk

  15. #15
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,657
    Blog Entries
    13
    linux has it's own version - fsck which is running now, but if it's a controller that's causing it, fsck won't know.

  16. #16
    BOINC Gypsy ChertseyAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, Englandshire
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    I do not know what to do a this stage
    I guess it's none of the obvious things like the PSU being underrated, or going on the blink and over/under voltaging the drives?

    Don't know if the RAM could be casuing stange problems. Have had a few oddities of the years that were RAM related.

    If it helps, I could ship you my old Sinclair ZX81 and/or my Nascom-1

    Al.

  17. #17
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Bok These are SATA Drives Right
    On a quad here that has a SATA SSD it would every 2 to 3 days just stop
    rebooted OK with a scandisk
    I found the drive controller chip and glued a old VGA chip cooler to it
    and it has not crashed since
    Find your drive/sata chip put your finger on in if feels hot try this
    on a norm it is right next to the SATA ports

  18. #18
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    Hmm I should check mine, i get a click every so often from a drive but I got a fan on 'em ...
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •