Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 54

Thread: Stats are down

  1. #1
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13

    Stats are down

    I'm getting drive errors on one of the SSD drives in the database server. Going to remote unmount it and fsck it and see if that fixes it..

    Not been having much luck with hardware recently.

  2. #2
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    Not been having much luck with hardware recently.
    Do you need a sister site haha I know I'm bad

  3. #3
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    Think I need a miracle It's not responding so it's going to be down for a while. I do have one spare SSD which I'll plug in over the weekend when I get home and see what can be done.

  4. #4
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Does the server work with a Raid so there is a backup copy ?

  5. #5
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    RAID slows it down too much and it's not that great with SSD's anyway.

    I do my own custom replication instead. Backups are on separate drives. This is the web facing database anyway which is read only, so it's 'mostly' duplicated from the main one. Means it gets LOTS of writes though and I guess it's finally taken it's toll.

  6. #6
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Have you looked into the pciE drives at all there faster and have more capacity

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    Means it gets LOTS of writes though and I guess it's finally taken it's toll.
    A write-caching program can cut down on writes by an order of magnitude or more. I have used both FancyCache (Romex Software) and PerfectCache 5.0 (Raxco), and they both give very good results for limiting the writes to my SSD when I run the CEP2 project on World Community Grid. Writes will typically go from 80 GB/day down to less than 1 GB/day, but that depends a lot on the statistics of what you are doing of course, and the size of the DRAM cache you set.

    FancyCache is currently in Beta (free 90 day trial), and PefectCache 5.0 is $80 (30 day free trial), but well worth it if you have the right situation.

  8. #8
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    Think I need a miracle It's not responding so it's going to be down for a while. I do have one spare SSD which I'll plug in over the weekend when I get home and see what can be done.
    Any Update yet

  9. #9
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    I only got home a few hours ago after travelling overnight, afraid to look at it right now when I'm still so tired. I *think* statstool is gone unless I can recover the drive though as well as a few other things, possibly historical miestones too. It looks like the backups were failing for the last 10 days or so and I didn't get warned. I only keep last 5 days.

  10. #10
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    looks like it got your Sig to
    Well if you need off line storage
    I have over 20 Terabytes of open space here

  11. #11
    Bok

    When you get her going again, if you dont use Diskeeper, go to Diskeeper - Hyperfast.

    I have used Diskeeper for years, and its excellent massive defrag and disc i/o savings, however, with the onset of SSDs, they brought out Hyperfast, and the difference thats made to my SSDs is astonishing, not only performance, but arguably more important disc life as it prevents a huge number of disc writes/IO. As SSDs are hugely sensitive in terms of their lifespan on minimising disc writes, Hyperfast hits the button superbly.

    I recenly crunched some WUs who are very heavy on disc writes - this particular WU type create literaly thousands of directories as part of its routine. During my time time crunching them, the Hyperfast pulled out an average of 600,000 saved disc io per day, compared to a WU that is not disc dependent where Hyperfast pulled only 25,000 or so disc writes per day. It works brilliantly, and frankly is a must have for Server SSDs - sprint dont walk and get it together with the main diskeeper program for the servers.

    Regards
    Zy

  12. #12
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    hmm dang I guess you aren't meant to leave the house for more than a day...
    Let me know if there is anything I can help with...
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

  13. #13
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    I bet gopher broke trying to install my long rang Radar
    come on confess

  14. #14
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    Hey Lauren not me....
    The Long range radar is on my radar just got a few real life things to get done first my dear friend.
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

  15. #15
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Zydor View Post
    Bok

    When you get her going again, if you dont use Diskeeper, go to Diskeeper - Hyperfast.

    I have used Diskeeper for years, and its excellent massive defrag and disc i/o savings, however, with the onset of SSDs, they brought out Hyperfast, and the difference thats made to my SSDs is astonishing, not only performance, but arguably more important disc life as it prevents a huge number of disc writes/IO. As SSDs are hugely sensitive in terms of their lifespan on minimising disc writes, Hyperfast hits the button superbly.

    I recenly crunched some WUs who are very heavy on disc writes - this particular WU type create literaly thousands of directories as part of its routine. During my time time crunching them, the Hyperfast pulled out an average of 600,000 saved disc io per day, compared to a WU that is not disc dependent where Hyperfast pulled only 25,000 or so disc writes per day. It works brilliantly, and frankly is a must have for Server SSDs - sprint dont walk and get it together with the main diskeeper program for the servers.

    Regards
    Zy
    It's all on linux, so products like this wouldn't be of any use. RAID 10 arrays might work, but multiple SSD's with good controllers start getting expensive. I really should have been checking the backups a bit better. I plan to pull the server apart tomorrow and see what can be done. At worst I'll plug in the extra SSD drive I have. (Have to pull apart my windows machine for that, but I'll just use my laptop in the meantime).

  16. #16
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    Good news, looks like I've recovered all of the data as far as I can tell. A few tables gave me errors but they are replicated versions anyway so no big deal. Running tests which will take some time but I think it will be back up no later than noon tomorrow. I'll have to put the drives in correctly as they are just loose right now.

    I'm going to look into getting 2 external drives (500Gb or would be fine) and running parallel backups to them.

  17. #17
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    Good job man, thank goodness for that....
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

  18. #18
    www.amdusers.com
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    264
    Hey bok, good luck with the re-build and recovery process. Take your time and get it right. Now is a good opportunity for that housekeeping on the server that always got postponed

  19. #19
    BOINC Gypsy ChertseyAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, Englandshire
    Posts
    209
    Hurrah! Back in business Just in time for me to see a milestone I've been after for *ages*

    Not had much luck with hardware here either. Lost 2 HDs in the last few weeks, and now another machine is randomly freezing and failing to find an OS. Running out of bits to cannibalise from old machines

    Anyway, hadn't realised how much I relied on Free-DC. Might have to make another donation soon

    Al.

  20. #20
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ChertseyAl View Post
    Hurrah! Back in business

    Anyway, hadn't realised how much I relied on Free-DC. Might have to make another donation soon
    Al.
    I think everyone should realize how much they use Free-DC and how mush they missed Free-DC Stats when they were down.
    It MIGHT Make them WANT to give a little back to Free-DC.
    I am vary SURE Bok is not to happy about having to strip down other working PC's Just to get the Stats. UP again
    ..

  21. #21
    BOINC Gypsy ChertseyAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, Englandshire
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    I think everyone should realize how much they use Free-DC
    Ah, just put some small change in the pot. Would be more, but I'm running out of HDs here and need to order some new ones. BOINC can seriously ruin your hardware

    Anywoo, just pleased that the best stats site is back again. And Free-DC really is the best. By a Loooooooong way. Just sayin' like

    Al.

  22. #22
    Stats on the Main Page are totally Boked errr Borked lol this morning ...

  23. #23
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    Amazingly, when I woke up this morning. A 2nd SSD is exhibiting exactly the same behavior as the last one.

    Its not the new one I put in, but surely this can't be a coincidence? And more likely points to a motherboard problem. I do not know what to do a this stage. I have one more SSD I could cannibalize from anoter machine, but my head tells me the machine itself is a problem now. I'll plug in the first failed SSD to another linux machine and see if it exhibits any errors at all.

  24. #24
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    Yeah Bok, Have to say that is pointing at a H/ware controller error - shame you don't got an SATA PCI card see if it's the controller or the whole mobo...
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

  25. #25
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Can you boot to DOS off a flopy and run scandisk

  26. #26
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    linux has it's own version - fsck which is running now, but if it's a controller that's causing it, fsck won't know.

  27. #27
    BOINC Gypsy ChertseyAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, Englandshire
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    I do not know what to do a this stage
    I guess it's none of the obvious things like the PSU being underrated, or going on the blink and over/under voltaging the drives?

    Don't know if the RAM could be casuing stange problems. Have had a few oddities of the years that were RAM related.

    If it helps, I could ship you my old Sinclair ZX81 and/or my Nascom-1

    Al.

  28. #28
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Bok These are SATA Drives Right
    On a quad here that has a SATA SSD it would every 2 to 3 days just stop
    rebooted OK with a scandisk
    I found the drive controller chip and glued a old VGA chip cooler to it
    and it has not crashed since
    Find your drive/sata chip put your finger on in if feels hot try this
    on a norm it is right next to the SATA ports

  29. #29
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    Hmm I should check mine, i get a click every so often from a drive but I got a fan on 'em ...
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

  30. #30
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    fsck was totally clean, and the stats have been running just fine for the last 8 hours or so. If they are ok still in the morning, I'll re-open the webside connection.

  31. #31
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    fsck was totally clean, and the stats have been running just fine for the last 8 hours or so. If they are ok still in the morning, I'll re-open the webside connection.
    Did you do the finger test was it Hot or not
    And what is the size if the SSD you are using

  32. #32
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    It felt just fine Lauren, these are all 120Gb SSD's. Still running just fine, so I'll open it up soon.

  33. #33
    BOINC Gypsy ChertseyAl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    London, Englandshire
    Posts
    209
    Looks like stats are down again

    Al.

  34. #34
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    yup. Drive not responding again. I'm going to tear down my windows machine and use that.

  35. #35
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    What do you think will make this go away

    P.S.
    Without the need to tear apart you network
    Last edited by LAURENU2; 02-26-2012 at 12:14 PM.

  36. #36
    Free-DC Retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,978
    Hmm an PC Ice box, nice water cooling, sealed box to prevent dust ingress, with Gigabit ethernet too, with plenty of RAM and some method of minimizing writing to the drives too...
    Retired from Free-DC...
    I don't have the time or money to help anymore...

  37. #37
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Would some thing like this work better that a SATA
    http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0371589
    It has a big conch
    The pciE has a larger pipe if I am not wrong
    I have a new Iceberg W/cooling system I never installed
    And or a pirzo system for working at -0 F

    P.S.
    this looks cool to a Hybrid
    http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0374294

  38. #38
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    What do you think will make this go away

    P.S.
    Without the need to tear apart you network
    I think it ranges from trying out a vga cooler like you mentioned on the SATA controller chip to replacing the mobo (which would mean a new CPU too).

    I intend to try the first option as soon as I get a chance, given the drive came back up just fine. Otherwise I'll sacrifice my windows machine which has a very good mobo+cpu

  39. #39
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    21,730
    Blog Entries
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post
    Would some thing like this work better that a SATA
    http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0371589
    It has a big conch
    The pciE has a larger pipe if I am not wrong
    I have a new Iceberg W/cooling system I never installed
    And or a pirzo system for working at -0 F

    P.S.
    this looks cool to a Hybrid
    http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0374294
    I've not heard good things about those PCIe SSD's yet.

  40. #40
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    I think it ranges from trying out a vga cooler like you mentioned on the SATA controller chip to replacing the mobo (which would mean a new CPU too).

    I intend to try the first option as soon as I get a chance, given the drive came back up just fine. Otherwise I'll sacrifice my windows machine which has a very good mobo+cpu
    Most of my MB's have some kind of coolers on the chip and like I said adding the heat-sink solved (can't read error)
    if you got a Old dead MB take the VGA cooler off and use that But use some heat sink past in the middle and a dab or ball
    of silicone at the 4 corners to lock it to the MB Let it cure laying down for 6 hrs and your good to go

    The silicone will not harm or short the MB

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •