Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Public Seti Queues (STICKY)

  1. #1

    Public Seti Queues (STICKY)

    Can we make this a stick thread, and post all the public SetiQ's in here. Some of the seti'ers are new and If they are competing in the gaunlet, they need to be prepared for more server outage (with berkeley its possible).

    Address Owner
    http://137.99.182.54:5517/ AKM
    http://63.174.126.44:5517/ Dinc
    http://www.irishguys.org:5517/ Col. Forbin
    http://gms8994.dyndns.org:5517/ Darkness Productions
    http://goobland.dyndns.org:5517/ Goob
    http://jdaw.cjb.net:443/ Jdaw's on port 443
    http://jdaw.cjb.net:5517/ Jdaw's on Port 5517
    http://kulish.com:5517/ Ancala
    http://setiqueue.mypc.nu:5517/ Pjotr
    http://vankalker.no-ip.com:5517/ Mick Foley
    http://setiq.new-swankton.net:5517/ Russell Hansen

    It is very simple to use a queue, just add a -proxy switch like this
    C:\seti\seti.exe -verbose -proxy http://www.dbestern.com:5517
    or if you use SetiSpy, which I use


    Edited by IronBits

  2. #2

    Add me to the roster

    my Q is here

    http://setiq.dotdotnetdot.net:5517/

    Its on a T1 and in CA.......

    feel free to hit it
    beer - its not just for breakfast

  3. #3
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    dBestern.com is taking down the Setiqueue.
    Please move to another public queue as soon as a possible.
    Here is the list of folks that need to move, please get the word out.
    Thanks!
    aroundsomewhere
    Azrael316
    Ben
    BucketHead
    Calphor
    Chris G. Brian F. Jim S. & NuEdge
    Drebin
    Jtrinkle
    Lekolite
    Mick
    NavyBuff
    nitecreep
    Platinum [JSI]
    Rikke
    Ronald B. Eddy
    rosyboa

  4. #4
    I joined the SETI project, not sure if you guys care about this one anymore though. What's up with it?

  5. #5
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I think Bok is running one

  6. #6
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    24,443
    Blog Entries
    13
    Nope, I think setiqueue is windows only...and I don't like windows

    Bok

  7. #7
    Senior Member tim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA/ND/CA
    Posts
    177
    Yup, SETI is still around. Not many people doing it these days. Me, I like what it's about, radio astronomy and little green men. And the client is stable so I can concentrate on keeping the hardware side going. And the stats, on Berkeley and Bok's open-dc site, are good. We're still holding down the fort.

  8. #8
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

    Exclamation Caching units on a Linux system

    This is too good to pass up, nor lose.
    Plagarised from:
    http://forums.teamphoenixrising.net/...ad.php?t=10076

    MrTFWitt
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Code:
    Caching units on a Linux system
    
    Create an account for seti processing if you havent done so already.
    
    Either use linuxconf or the following lines will do it
    
    groupadd seti
    useradd -g seti -d /home/seti -s /bin/ksh -c "Seti User" -m seti
    passwd seti
    
    
    The next thing to do is put the setiathome binary in the right place
    
    cp setiathome ~seti
    
    If you have already run seti on this system you will have a user_info.sah.
    copy that into the same directory 
    
    cp user_info.sah ~seti
    
    If not you will have to do a login as a returning user to create one
    
    su - seti
    ./setiathome -login
    
    
    Right so thats a userid and a working install of seti, 
    now we need to create the cache and leech some units.
    
    Setup script
    Code:
    
    #!/bin/bash
    cd ~seti
    if [ ! -f setiathome -o ! -f user_info.sah ]
    then
            echo expected to find setiathome and user_info.sah in this directory
            exit 1
    fi
    
    Proxy=www.adventurevision.com:5517
    Clients=20
    i=0
    while [ "$Clients"  -gt "$i" ]
    do
            dirname=`echo $i|awk '{printf("sc%2.2d",$1)}'`
            if [ -d ~seti/$dirname ]
            then
                    if [ ! -f ~seti/$dirname/work_unit.sah ]
                    then
                            cd ~seti/$dirname
                            ../setiathome -stop_after_xfer -proxy $Proxy
                    fi
            else
                    echo Creating ~seti/$dirname
                    mkdir ~seti/$dirname
                    cp user_info.sah ~seti/$dirname
                    cd ~seti/$dirname
                    ../setiathome -stop_after_xfer -proxy $Proxy
            fi
            i=`expr $i + 1`
    done
    Cut and paste the above into a file 
    
    save the file as setup and type chmod u+x setup to set the execute bit.
    
    There are a couple of lines you can change
    Proxy= If you are on NTL pick a proxy that lets you see Berkeley !
    Clients= 99 is the maximum unless you change the awk statement.
    
    Now your cache is chocka with units its time for some crunching.
    Cut and paste the following into a file called runit saved in the seti users directory
    
    
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    cd ~seti
    while :
    do
            for unit in `find . -name work_unit.sah`
            do
                    cd `dirname $unit`
                    echo Starting on `pwd`
                    ~seti/setiathome -stop_after_process
                    cd ~seti
            done
            sleep 10
    donethen type chmod u+x runit
    
    Launch this with nohup ./runit & and it will keep running after you logoff.
    
    <edit>
    To run at boot time add the following to /etc/rc.local
    
    su - seti -c "nohup /home/seti/runit &" 
    
    </edit>
    
    
    Uploading units can be done with this snippet
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    cd ~seti
    Proxy=www.adventurevision.com:5517
    for unit in `find . -name result.sah`
    do
            cd `dirname $unit`
            echo Sending `pwd`
            ~seti/setiathome -stop_after_xfer -proxy $Proxy
            cd ~seti
    done
    
    Right those that are still awake will be asking about progress checking. 
    This will tell you a bit more detail on completed units and time per unit. 
    Nowt flash as laziness was setting in when I did this bit.
    
    Code:
    #!/bin/ksh
    for file in `find . -name state.sah` `find . -name wtemp.sah`
    do
    cpu=`grep "^cpu=" $file |cut -d "=" -f2|cut -d"." -f1`
    prog=`grep "^prog=" $file |cut -d "=" -f2`
    if [ ! -z ${cpu} ]
    then
    
    time=$cpu
    hours=`expr $time / 3600`
    time=`expr $time - \( 3600 \* $hours \)`
    mins=`expr $time / 60`
    time=`expr $time - \( 60 \* $mins \)`
    secs=$time
    
    timestring=`echo $hours $mins $secs |awk '{printf("%2.2d:%2.2d:%2.2d\n",$1,$2,$3 )}'`
    echo $file $timestring $prog
    fi
    done
    
    All feedback welcome, I've tested most of this but not from square one
    on a clean build like many of you will be doing.
    Oh and I used Redhat 7.2 with the INSTALL EVERYthing button selected.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Last edited by MrTFWitt : 07-10-2002 at 21:35.
    Thanks!

  9. #9
    Senior Member tim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    WA/ND/CA
    Posts
    177
    Whoa! That's impresive. Thanks, IB! I'll study that script and maybe try to deploy it if I can figure out how it works. Looks like my bash skills are about to be expanded.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •