Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: SBProxy now for all teams!

  1. #1
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184

    Thumbs up SBProxy now for all teams!

    Version 0.11 is now available. Now that it's out of alpha, I've removed the team restriction. This version also has work unit caching capabilities. Note that this still doesn't defeat the 10-day timeout, but it makes sneakernetting easier.

    P.S. Please don't link directly to the file, as I'll be moving to another server shortly.

  2. #2
    Team Anandtech
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    50
    Here's a shot of it in action. I really do recommend you use it if you're using more than one computer - and if you have any computers on a network without net access, well, it's a godsend

  3. #3
    allio, completely off topic, but where can I get that script you've running on your background to see all those system resources etc?

    On Topic.
    I have a question on how this proxy will be able to feed my corporate machines, who are behind a corporate firewall working on port 8000 for HTTP?
    ---
    Proud member of Dutch Power Cows

  4. #4
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184
    I have a question on how this proxy will be able to feed my corporate machines, who are behind a corporate firewall working on port 8000 for HTTP?
    I assume you need to listen on port 8000:
    Code:
    java SBProxy 8000


    And I believe the system status is done by a program called CoolMon.

  5. #5
    Team Anandtech
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    50
    That's Coolmon with Motherboard Monitor, yup. My config is here if you'd like to use it as a base

  6. #6
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184
    I've been thinking about this, and for getting through a firewall what you really want is IP_Relay. Run "ip_relay.exe 8000 sb.pns.net 1717" and you won't have to mess with manually running downloads and uploads.

    P.S. I'm not sure this is where I got my copy of IP_Relay, so it may be the wrong program or have viruses.


  7. #7
    Unholy Undead Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    1

    properly install

    C:\Program Files\SB\sbproxy011>java SBProxy 3128
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: SBProxy

    So what's this? What should I do to run this?
    wbr, Me. Dead J. Dona \


  8. #8
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184
    1. Make sure SBProxy.class and the other .class files are in that folder.
    2. Make sure a jre (Java Runtime Environment) V1.3.1 or higher is in your path. I don't believe the version that comes with Windows works.

  9. #9
    as an alternative/upgrade to coolmon may I recommend samurize. Pretty much the same, only it also allows for graphical information to display.Click Here for homepage/screenshots

  10. #10
    Unholy Undead Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by Ken_g6[TA]
    1. Make sure SBProxy.class and the other .class files are in that folder.
    2. Make sure a jre (Java Runtime Environment) V1.3.1 or higher is in your path. I don't believe the version that comes with Windows works.
    All files are in same folder, as I unzipped them.
    My Java version is 1.4.2, downloaded from java.sun.com...

    C:\Program Files\SB\sbproxy011>Java SBProxy.class
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: SBProxy/class



    C:\Program Files\SB\sbproxy011>Java -verbose SBProxy.class

    shows next ->

    ** a lot of succesful loads skipped **
    [Loaded java.security.PrivilegedActionException from C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\lib\rt.jar]
    [Loaded java.io.FileNotFoundException from C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\lib\rt.jar]
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: SBProxy/class
    [Loaded java.lang.StackTraceElement from C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\lib\rt.jar]



    After finishing ECC2-109 I want to switch to 17oB! 90 GHz waiting =)))
    Last edited by Death; 11-27-2003 at 05:10 AM.
    wbr, Me. Dead J. Dona \


  11. #11
    Sieve it, baby!
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Potsdam, Germany
    Posts
    959
    Originally posted by Death
    C:\Program Files\SB\sbproxy011>Java -verbose SBProxy.class
    You have to skip the ".class" part. That's why this has happened:

    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: SBProxy/class
    I'm afraid it won't work after that anyway, but maybe the new error message provides some more insight.

  12. #12
    Unholy Undead Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by Mystwalker
    You have to skip the ".class" part. That's why this has happened:

    I'm afraid it won't work after that anyway, but maybe the new error message provides some more insight.
    Theres no difference use .class extension or not.

    [Loaded java.io.FileNotFoundException from C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_01\lib\rt.jar]
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: SBProxy

    And another Q: I'm use port 3128 to connect to internet through our corporate proxy. No way our admin allow me to use 80 port. What should I do? Clent don't want to connect to server. =(
    wbr, Me. Dead J. Dona \


  13. #13
    Originally posted by Ken_g6[TA]
    I've been thinking about this, and for getting through a firewall what you really want is IP_Relay. Run "ip_relay.exe 8000 sb.pns.net 1717" and you won't have to mess with manually running downloads and uploads.

    P.S. I'm not sure this is where I got my copy of IP_Relay, so it may be the wrong program or have viruses.

    The progam runs :
    Code:
    C:\ip\ip_relay>ip_relay.exe 8000 sb.pns.net 1717
    ip_relay: running on localhost:8000 <-> 216.163.34.105:1717
    But this will not get a test through the firewall to my clients
    ---
    Proud member of Dutch Power Cows

  14. #14
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184
    dikkie:
    1. Be sure to point your clients to thathost:8000.
    2. Be sure that host is *outside* your firewall.

    Death: Could you run java -verbose again for me without the .class, please?

  15. #15
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184
    Another idea: you could try:

    java -classpath . SBProxy 3128

    or

    set classpath=.
    java SBProxy 3128

  16. #16
    Unholy Undead Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by Ken_g6[TA]
    Another idea: you could try:

    java -classpath . SBProxy 3128

    or

    set classpath=.
    java SBProxy 3128
    Tnx, this works!

    C:\Program Files\SB\sbproxy011>java -classpath . SBProxy 1717
    Welcome to SBProxy, version 0.11, by Ken Brazier.
    Now listening on port 1717.
    Please point your SB clients to this host and port.

    But there's another problem

    1. C:\Program Files\SB\sbproxy011>java SBFetch DeadJDona
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: SBFetch

    2. C:\Program Files\SB\sbproxy011>java -classpath . SBFetch DeadJDona
    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: Array index out of range: 2
    at java.util.Vector.get(Unknown Source)
    at SBVector.getUser(SBVector.java:93)
    at SBFetch.main(SBFetch.java:51)

    And I'm behind 3128 port , not 80 or 1717
    wbr, Me. Dead J. Dona \


  17. #17
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184
    Mea culpa. The program was supposed to produce an error, but it should have said:

    Error: No blocks found for user DeadJDona
    Please complete a block before attempting to fetch.

    I'm working on correcting both problems in the next version.
    Proud member of the friendliest team around, Team Anandtech!
    The Queue is dead! (Or not needed.) Long Live George Woltman!

  18. #18
    Unholy Undead Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by Ken_g6[TA]
    Mea culpa. The program was supposed to produce an error, but it should have said:

    Error: No blocks found for user DeadJDona
    Please complete a block before attempting to fetch.

    I'm working on correcting both problems in the next version.
    Nothing wrong with it. Beta testers supposed to collect bugs.

    Just want some more info.

    I need at first to got some blocks for clients. AFAIK I need a username to receive a blocks and server when giving block reserve it to this user. So I run "SBFetch DeadJDona" to receive blocks from server for me. Then I run SBProxy. Clients pointed at proxy receives packet from proxy, caclulate it, and submit back to proxy. Then I run SBFlush to upload results to server.

    Am I right?

    Can I run SBFetch and SBFlush simulateneously with SBProxy? Why SBProxy can't receive some blocks ~one block per client, and upload results immediately?

    And what can I do with 3128 port????
    wbr, Me. Dead J. Dona \


  19. #19
    Unholy Undead Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    907
    Blog Entries
    1

    bump

    bump
    wbr, Me. Dead J. Dona \


  20. #20
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    184
    I need at first to got some blocks for clients. AFAIK I need a username to receive a blocks and server when giving block reserve it to this user. So I run "SBFetch DeadJDona" to receive blocks from server for me. Then I run SBProxy. Clients pointed at proxy receives packet from proxy, caclulate it, and submit back to proxy. Then I run SBFlush to upload results to server.

    Am I right?
    Close. SBFetch actually needs both username (which it gets from you) and team name (which it gets from a blk***.sob file). I'm going to test and see if team name really matters; if it doesn't the last error you had should go away. Clients receive work from SBProxy, and submit many little intermediate blocks before the final result. Which leads to:

    Can I run SBFetch and SBFlush simulateneously with SBProxy? Why SBProxy can't receive some blocks ~one block per client, and upload results immediately?
    Because (1) it doesn't know how many clients you have, (2) it doesn't know if those clients will be ready to use their WUs within the 10-day timeout, and (3) you certainly wouldn't want to do a fetch after every intermediate block. I may be able to do this evntually, with the (vaporware) GUI I've been planning.

    And what can I do with 3128 port????
    I'm use port 3128 to connect to internet through our corporate proxy
    I don't think I read this correctly until now. Are you saying you are trying to connect through an HTTP proxy? This won't (currently) work with SoB because it uses its own specialized TCP protocol, rather than HTTP.

    I can imagine it might be possible to tunnel a TCP connection through HTTP to another server. This appears to be beyond my capabilities, but someone may have written such a program sometime. I can also imagine converting each SoB request into an HTTP GET or POST, which is still a little over my head, but should be possible. Both would require you to have two servers, one inside and one outside the firewall.

    For now, I suggest sneakernetting.
    Proud member of the friendliest team around, Team Anandtech!
    The Queue is dead! (Or not needed.) Long Live George Woltman!

  21. #21
    Sieve it, baby!
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Potsdam, Germany
    Posts
    959
    I can imagine it might be possible to tunnel a TCP connection through HTTP to another server. This appears to be beyond my capabilities, but someone may have written such a program sometime. I can also imagine converting each SoB request into an HTTP GET or POST, which is still a little over my head, but should be possible. Both would require you to have two servers, one inside and one outside the firewall.
    You might want to try out HTTPort. It basically does exactly this.
    On the other end, you can use HTTHost or connect to one of the servers already set up on some computers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •