Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Queue-ing and/or running multiple services

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Oosterhout, Netherlands
    Posts
    223

    Queue-ing and/or running multiple services

    I have 2 offline clients@work running on win9x systems.

    Thanks to the client I can see that they'll be finishing their test saturday. That means that will have nothing to do for half the weekend. Bad case

    So I read the .txts in the client dir and found some tips.
    Using the p:2 parameter I can run two clients as a service at the same time. Problem is that this only works on XP/NT/W2K-machines. I can't use that parameter on sobsvc9x.exe

    Furthermore I took a look in the register and found two entries involving queueing or caching. Making these numbers higher did not result in having multiple clients running or tests queued.

    Does anybody else have a tip to solve my problem?
    Proud member of the Dutch Power Cows

  2. #2
    Senior Member Frodo42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jutland, Denmark
    Posts
    299
    You could reserve a range for sieving and let it run at the same time, that way when the client runs out of work, the siever will take over.

  3. #3
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The People's Republic of Boulder ;)
    Posts
    180
    Well, I don't know much about multiple clients, but my proxy will allow you to do some caching. I haven't yet figured out a way to maintain a cache level (what with the 10-day limit and all) so you have to fetch manually. But I'm working on it.

    As I understand, those registry entries are just hooks for a caching system that doesn't yet exist.

    And as far as running two clients at once, you might be able to do it manually by changing the location of the cache ("..../LhDn/SoB/cache" -> "..../LhDn/SoB/cache2") while the first client is running. It'd be tricky, though.

    Edit: My sig should have changed.
    Last edited by Ken_g6[TA]; 12-19-2003 at 09:57 AM.
    Proud member of the friendliest team around, Team Anandtech!
    The Queue is dead! (Or not needed.) Long Live George Woltman!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Oosterhout, Netherlands
    Posts
    223
    Thanks for the replies guys.

    I have like ZERO experience in sieving. What it is, what it is for etc. I have to get into that. Maybe something for the holidays.

    I'll take a look at that proxy of yours Ken. Now if you only had a link in your sig. Now I'll have to browse there forums
    Proud member of the Dutch Power Cows

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Oosterhout, Netherlands
    Posts
    223
    Obviously I'm a total nitwit when it comes to running proxies.

    I downloaded your program, but am unable to start it. I think it has something to do with Java. When I try to run the proxy using java SBProxy, I just get a window which says Java and in there are 3 subdirs....

    It must be really simple, but I'm lacking knowledge to make it run....
    Proud member of the Dutch Power Cows

  6. #6
    Senior Member Frodo42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jutland, Denmark
    Posts
    299
    For a good introduction to sieving I very much recommend Mike H's sieve site for SoB.
    Sieving and P-1 factoring are optimal for offline computers.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Oosterhout, Netherlands
    Posts
    223
    Thankx. I'll look into it as soon as I find the time (and priority ) for it.
    Proud member of the Dutch Power Cows

  8. #8
    Former QueueMaster Ken_g6[TA]'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The People's Republic of Boulder ;)
    Posts
    180
    Originally posted by [DPC]Mobster
    Obviously I'm a total nitwit when it comes to running proxies.

    I downloaded your program, but am unable to start it. I think it has something to do with Java. When I try to run the proxy using java SBProxy, I just get a window which says Java and in there are 3 subdirs....

    It must be really simple, but I'm lacking knowledge to make it run....
    Find java.exe on your machine and either run it directly or make sure it's in your path. If you can't find java.exe, download the jre.
    Proud member of the friendliest team around, Team Anandtech!
    The Queue is dead! (Or not needed.) Long Live George Woltman!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •