Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sleep.exe?

  1. #1
    of OCW's "Triple Nickle" Gortok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    43

    Sleep.exe?

    On my A64 machine, the client stops with an error saying that sleep.exe is not a 64-bit process (Yes, I'm using Win64beta v1069) and that I should contact the author of the software to see if there is a newer...compatible...blah, blah, blah...

    1. What IS this process?
    2. Why is it doing this?
    AND
    3. Should I just run the client on WinXP 32bit (or something else)?

    TIA!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    79
    SLEEP.EXE 20 delays your machine for 20 seconds (for example)

    It is there for the purpose of keeping one process from stomping on another while the first one is shutting-down or starting-up.
    -djp
    I'm not a Stats Ho either. I just want to go and check to see that all my spare boxen are busy. Hang on a minute....

  3. #3
    of OCW's "Triple Nickle" Gortok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    43
    ok...so it's used to put the client to sleep for an upload or a update?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    79
    More on the order of just letting the processes settle down. If you look at the script, you'll see it's only sleeping for a few seconds.
    -djp
    I'm not a Stats Ho either. I just want to go and check to see that all my spare boxen are busy. Hang on a minute....

  5. #5
    of OCW's "Triple Nickle" Gortok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    43
    o-kaaay...So, what would you suggest?
    It's done this twice over the last 24 hours...it just gets "hung" at the error box, waiting for me to click OK...


  6. #6
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    4 times in fact! We need to find a 64-bit version of sleep.exe

    windows2003 resource kit download
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

  7. #7
    of OCW's "Triple Nickle" Gortok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    GA
    Posts
    43
    Very COOL!
    Thank you, thank you, thank you very much!

  8. #8
    Alive and XXXXing
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    GMT +3
    Posts
    55
    Why not use:
    Code:
    echo Wscript.Sleep 7000 > sleep.vbs
    start /wait wscript.exe sleep.vbs
    just insert the above two lines instead of the line:
    Code:
    sleep ## > nul
    This makes a file that just has "Wscript.Sleep 7000", then executes it. It makes wscript pause for 7000 milliseconds, and exit.

    No external files needed, just wscript, which is included in all standard windows installs anyway. No dependancies on processor type!

    BTW: This works on Win98 (and maybe even 95). Just replace "/wait" with "/w".

    Last edited by Xelas; 07-21-2004 at 07:27 AM.

  9. #9
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Thanks for that tip to!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Portland, OR USA
    Posts
    79
    That's cool, but here's a bit of code that will run even faster!
    Oh, wait. Speed wasn't the goal this time, was it?

    -djp
    I'm not a Stats Ho either. I just want to go and check to see that all my spare boxen are busy. Hang on a minute....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •