Thread: help a total noob get started

help a total noob get started

I'm interested in helping with one of the distributed mathematical projects. To be perfectly honest, I don't know for sure if I will pick this project, but it seems like a good place to start.

For background, I have a BS in chemistry, and I'm fairly comfortable with computer lingo so long as it stays away from UNIX specifics(winblowz user for convinience). So far, following the math and most of the programming ideas hasn't been an issue.

I am a but lost by the terms used here. I have picked up what sieving is for instance, but from what I can gather, there isn't a single FAQ on this board that would help me out. If so, please direct me there.

I'd like to know what programs I should use, what hardware is best at what projects, and simple things such as that.

I will be using several CPU's. An Athlon 64, two Athlon XP CPUs, a Pentium 4 or two (with hyperthreading), a pentium pro, and possibly a pentium 3. It's a wide range of chips, and it would be nice if I used them in an efficient manner.

I'll probably be bringing around 8-9 gHz to the project. I don't know if that's enough for you guys to bother helping me out or not, but a solid FAQ as talked about elsewhere on the board would really make it easier for people like me to get involved.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Sieve it, baby!
    I looked around a bit and figured out that there is none on this board (which indeed can be improved), but I found a "F.A.Q." button on the SeventeenOrBust Homepage. This guides you to the TPR Seventeen or Bust client FAQ , for example. There are surely still a lot of questions open after having read that, but it seems to be a good start.

There is another detailed description ("What we are doing" - reedited by Nuri) somewhere around, but I can't find it ATM.