Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 81 to 117 of 117

Thread: Proxy

  1. #81
    Senior Member paleseptember's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Posts
    290
    From the .plans:

    Quote Originally Posted by snikkel
    :: 11-Jan-2009 20:16 GMT (Sunday) ::

    We experienced a temporary misconfiguration on one of the full proxy servers
    in the network yesterday. This had the undesirable affect of notifying clients
    and personal proxies that the OGR-NG contest was closed. This is not the
    case. Clients and proxy servers that connected to this server may need to be
    restarted in order to continue working on the OGR-NG contest. We apologize for
    any inconvenience this may cause.
    Could be related.

  2. #82
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    makes sense...
    the-mk

  3. #83
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    Bok, could it be that the pproxy is out of order?

    from my clients log:
    [Jan 18 03:00:01 UTC] The perproxy says: "Free-DC Dnet Proxy!"
    [Jan 18 05:00:04 UTC] The keyserver says: "Hai c0w! (cdy)"
    [Jan 18 07:00:03 UTC] The keyserver says: "OGR-NG.. Sounds like a new Star Trek series.. (bang)"
    the-mk

  4. #84
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    yup. IB had to reboot the webserver last night. I just restarted the proxy.

    Bok

  5. #85
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I can't find the poll/message, but...

    When you going to purge all those pages and pages of u_* crap from the pproxy server?

  6. #86
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    in answer to ^

    today

    And I'm now running a fresh new database with only the OGRNG data in it...

    The older ones are still available (and being updated) if you use dnet2 rather than dnet..

    I know we are close to finish anyways, better late than never !

  7. #87
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks!
    the-mk

  8. #88
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    I've updated the proxy to the latest build to server ogr27. Seems to be working ok and has downloaded lots of work.

  9. #89

    email displayed on proxy stats page

    Hey, IB: I don't suppose I could talk you into hiding my email address on the proxy stats pages? I'll be your best friend!

    I found it by doing a google search for "lfawkes". I was wondering why I just started getting spam out of the blue a few months ago.

    Thanks man!

  10. #90
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    I'll do it now.. next update will reflect.

  11. #91
    D'oh, observation fail on my part.

    Thanks Bok!

    *hands Bok one certificate of best friendship*

    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    I'll do it now.. next update will reflect.

  12. #92
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    If anyone would ask me, I'd suggest to wipe out the free-dc pproxy server to get fresh ogr-stubs from the keymaster.

    http://stats.distributed.net/project...?project_id=27
    --> stubspace 3 is almost done, today only 40 are over, but the proxy is still providing a lot of stubspace-3-stubs, which I think is useless, the remaining stubs in the pproxy-buffer don't contribute to the remaining stubs of that stubspace...

    anyone shares a part of my opinion?

    have a nice day!
    the-mk

  13. #93
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    sure, why not?

  14. #94
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    great
    btw, could we rename the title of that page to something different?
    http://stats.free-dc.org/dnet/ogr/byemail.html
    OGR-25 ended long time ago, maybe we should call it OGR-NG? should be future-proof
    the-mk

  15. #95
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I also noticed that 'last updated' is in UTC time, but says it's GMT time.
    Bok has some code to fix

  16. #96
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    depends on how you see it...
    we usually have in Austria GMT+1, but during summer with daylight-saving-time we have GMT+2, so the time shown on pproxy-stats seem to be correct to me.
    the-mk

  17. #97
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    Have updated (I think) the code which generates the title on the page to be OGR-27.. Let's see next update.

  18. #98
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    I'm sorry, it did not update
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	pproxy-stats.png 
Views:	93 
Size:	33.8 KB 
ID:	1261  
    the-mk

  19. #99
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    I'm still processing unnecessary stubspace 3 ogr-stubs from pproxy.free-dc.org!
    http://stats.distributed.net/project...?project_id=27
    stubspace 3 is finished!
    how many stubspace-3-stubs are waiting on pproxy.free-dc.org to be processed?
    the-mk

  20. #100
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    I don't even know how to check that ?

    And as for the page title, found it, I forgot I had two copies of ppstats installed and had changed the old one.. this time it should take effect.

  21. #101
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    Many thanks, page title of pproxy-stats are now new

    but what exactly do you mean with that you don't know how to check that?
    it is long time ago I worked with a pproxy myself, but doesn't every project has its file for input-buffer and output-buffer? - it would be the easiest to stop the pproxy, remove the ogr-buffer which holds the unprocessed stubs, start the proxy and let it fetch brandnew stubspace 4 stubs (which are 6-diff, i.e. 27/1-20-6-30-11-18; that means that after the "27/" are 6 numbers divided by a minus...)
    the-mk

  22. #102
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    I can certainly remove the file, but you asked how many were in it.. it's compressed in some way I think, at least looking with vi or cat or head does not display anything meaningful

    stopping and deleting now..

    Bok

  23. #103
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    everything is perfect now! many thanks!
    the-mk

  24. #104
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    Bok, what value is the blocksize option in the rc5-72 section of the config?

    If it's not already, can we get it bumped to 1024 please? From the manual:

    [rc5-72]/blocksize: the preferred size of blocks when requesting additional workunits from the upstream server. The default is 256. If clients need smaller block sizes, then your proxy will automatically split large blocks into the needed size, however clients will not be able to request blocks larger than the size your proxy currently has available, since the proxy cannot combine smaller blocks together. Be aware that when your proxy requests additional workunits from the upstream server, this blocksize value may cause your proxy to temporarily exceed the "maxkeysready" since requests will always be done in multiples of this value.

  25. #105
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    Didn't even have a config for that value at all. I've added one and restarted, see if that works.

    Bok

  26. #106
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    What is the cache size for RC5-72? We won't know if it had the desired effect until we crunch everything that was already cached and get to the new stuff.

    Between me and DP, we've probably fetched over 30,000 blocks since you made the change. I'm keeping an eye on my Stream client and it's still only getting a maximum of 256 block packets so far.

  27. #107
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    [rc5-72]
    logfilekeyblock=pproxyrc572
    logfilekeyblockrotation=daily
    minkeysready=3000
    maxkeysready=10000
    maxkeysdone=20
    blocksize=1024

  28. #108
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    Ah, I forgot about the 20,000 block cache on my end. I'll give it a few more days and then see what comes through. Thanks!

  29. #109
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    OK, still haven't been getting any come through so I've done some more research and come up with something curious.

    The proxyper manual was what I quoted from before, and it clearly says to use "blocksize" to specify the block size and that the default is 256. However, in the included example proxyper.ini it has the option "requestsize=256" in the RC5-72 section. I checked the latest FreeBSD and Linux tarballs and it was apparent for both.

    Looks like a mix up on their part. I've changed my proxyper to include both blocksize=1024 and requestsize=1024 and there were no warnings about unknown options when I restarted. Please can you do the same?

    edit: Looks good. My proxyper just hit the FDC one up for some more blocks and I saw "[2010-02-10 12:49:52] server: Queueing rc5-72 request for iter 1024."

  30. #110
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    done.

  31. #111
    Big Fat Gorilla guru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Warren, OR
    Posts
    501
    Can someone please kick the server for me.
    I'm having fun!!! I'm just not sure if it's net fun or gross fun.

  32. #112
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    crappity crap crap. I forgot to start this up again. When the server moves I'll make sure and put this in the startup script..

    It's running now. Sorry Guru!

  33. #113
    Big Fat Gorilla guru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Warren, OR
    Posts
    501
    Thanks Bok.
    I'm having fun!!! I'm just not sure if it's net fun or gross fun.

  34. #114
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    pproxy.free-dc.org is still the correct entry for the personal proxy server?
    I'm currently not able to connect to it
    the-mk

  35. #115
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    It died about an hour 1/2 ago by the looks of it, it does occasionally crash out for some reason, has done for years..

    Restarted it now. And yes, pproxy.free-dc.org is the correct address.

  36. #116
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    Many thanks, client flushes now to pproxy.free-dc.org as I can see from pproxy-message
    But: is http://stats.free-dc.org/dnet/ogr/byemail.html still the valid URL for pproxy-stats? It says "Last Updated: 31 Jul 2010 10:40 GMT"
    I am asking because I had to shutdown my pproxy because of power maintenance during weekends...
    the-mk

  37. #117
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,165
    Blog Entries
    13
    I never reconfigured the proxy stats after moving the boxen. Ran it once and had to kill it after 2 hours as it was still running and never ha a chance to debug it.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •