Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 41 to 80 of 117

Thread: Proxy

  1. #41
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6

    Exclamation proxy down!!

    pproxy.free-dc.org and/or stats3.free-dc.org as dnet-proxy-server are out of order!
    client says in logfiles: Network update is currently not available.
    the-mk

  2. #42
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Kicked it!
    Bok, I started it with screen -S pproxy
    Server was rebooted today as I had to move the routers around and it must not have kicked off automatically.

  3. #43
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    its working again! thanks IB!!

    someone noticed that the linux-dnetc-clients don't fall back to the official keyserver, while the windows-dnetc-clients do?
    [EDIT]seems to be a known but unresolved bug since 2002 --> http://bugs.distributed.net/show_bug.cgi?id=3031 --> nobody likes to fix it?[/EDIT]
    the-mk

  4. #44
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    pproxy seems to be down once again!
    please restart! thanks!
    the-mk

  5. #45
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Kicked

  6. #46
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    Seems to be stuck?

    Last Updated:
    31 Jul 2008 19:05 GMT

  7. #47
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    Do you mean ppstats ?

    http://stats.free-dc.org/dnet/ogr/byemail.html

    it's not at stats3 anymore. Not sure why it had been there that long, but when we moved the forum I fixed it.

    Bok

  8. #48
    Dungeon Master alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    1,700
    Ah, didn't realise it had been moved back. Thanks.

  9. #49
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    a question to Bok:
    taking a look at http://stats.free-dc.org/dnet/ogr/bydomain.html -> there are 3 (three) mail-accounts from Austria, but at http://stats.free-dc.org/dnet/ogr/byemail.html there are only two people from Austria listed: me (the_mk) and wirthi

    suggestions?
    the-mk

  10. #50
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    Might be a user I pruned last year (anything which hadn't connected in over a year).

    It's probably still in the domain table though..

  11. #51
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    ppstats appears to be broken. It's complaining about a duplicate entry for a yoyo account..... If yoyo reads this, are you pointing your proxy to the free-dc one ? I don't really mind, just need to know so I can try and accomodate.. Haven't really got the time to debug tonight, it'll have to be tomorrow.. Bok

  12. #52
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    deleted out the duplicates.. There are a few yoyo accounts though,, I guess they ran out of stubs http://stats.free-dc.org/dnet/ogr/byemail.html

  13. #53
    Yes, I run empty, because I reduced my proxy buffers drastically, so I searched around for some proxies which still have ogr's.
    yoyo

  14. #54
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I think it sucks that another 'team' comes running over to another Team's pproxy server at the end of a project just because they didn't manage theirs properly and ran out, including messing up our pproxy server so that intervention was necessary to restore services for those that depend on it, but that's just me.

    If folks had been coming in all the time, then no foul because we could have changed the allotment we were giving ourselves to keep it full enough for those that were using it daily so we could make corrections to the buffering, but to blatantly just come in and take what they want is foul, disrespectful and called stealing.

    Didn't even have the common courtesy to ask permission first!

    /me walks away in disbelief and total disgust

  15. #55
    Sorry for that, the proxy was open to use. I was not aware that this is a team-only-proxy. I only got some thousands ogr to continue. I will never use it in future, sorry that I used it.
    yoyo

  16. #56
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    It's not a TEAM ONLY PPROXY.
    It's not an official project proxy server either.
    We have folks from different teams working from the Free-DC proxy server, and we have never turned anyone away.

    It's never OK to just attach to another personal proxy server and take what you want.
    Most folks ask permission first when joining up, out of respect and common courtesy and to allow the administrators to adjust the cache level required.

    As I said, if you had been taking work consistently all along, then we could have adjusted for what you use, no harm no foul.

    You chose to just come in and take what you wanted, at the end of a project, to serve your needs and to hell with anyone else.

    That is what I'm taking exception to.

  17. #57
    Ok, I see your point. I did not saw any ask for usage of the proxy here. So really sorry. I can send Bok the IP of my proxy and he can get some back until its empty.
    yoyo

  18. #58
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    ah, no problem really yoyo. Personally I'm not bothered at all. Due to the alleged 24 hour recycle anyway I doubt we are doing any work that is counting towards the actual work (though it is being scored). Bok

  19. #59
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    I have arranged for yoyo to take some stubs out of the proxy. There are plenty in there right now though I doubt any are less than 24 hours or even 48 hours old... I'd bet we could probably keep scoring with these stubs for 5 or more days easily. I've also fixed the issue with ppstats (the email column in one of the tables was only varchar(50) which was being overloaded by some of the longer names from yoyo.. increased it to varchar(100) and that allowed it to go through. Bok

  20. #60
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    We are not able to feed my 3 PS3s properly as it is right now.
    Looks like LaurenU2 has dropped about 1,000 per day so far.

    I have mine setup to automatically run RC5 when there are no OGR to work on so they don't sit idle, and I've noticed my RC5 output went up over 1000 for the past 3 days.
    I also setup dnet to only hit our pproxy server. I'm down about 40,000 per day.
    I guess we are squeezing blood out of turnips now.

  21. #61
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    Strange, because it's never ran out of stubs yet.

    Perhaps you did an update whilst I had the proxy down for a few short moments and it fell back to RC5 then?

    Bok

  22. #62
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I'm sure part of it was because I was using official proxies, and Free-DC last.
    Once I noticed the increase in RC5 work being completed, I switched back to Free-DC only mode.
    Yesterday I did 60,000 OGR and 1,300ish RC5.
    Let's see what happens today...

  23. #63
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by IronBits View Post
    We are not able to feed my 3 PS3s properly as it is right now.
    Looks like LaurenU2 has dropped about 1,000 per day so far. .
    I have added 4 more Quads but ported some power to regain our seat in GeneticLife And to refortify my Drive in Eon
    We also had a couple power outages here to and I had to reset the nodes by hand
    Thats why you see a slight drop in my output

    You should see more of me today
    . . .. .. .. . . . . . . . . . MY
    Yoyo _ Proxy Server _ _ _Yoyo =--->

  24. #64
    Quote Originally Posted by LAURENU2 View Post

    . . .. .. .. . . . . . . . . . MY
    Yoyo _ Proxy Server _ _ _Yoyo =--->
    Seems to be that I'm dead and can't disconnect my proxy.
    yoyo

  25. #65
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619

  26. #66
    Free-DC's Prime Search
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    2,518



  27. #67
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950

  28. #68
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Windsor, England
    Posts
    950
    of course you do realise that yoyo taking stubs could mean that we don't get 4th place back

    and i don't think it's something Free-DC would have ever done

  29. #69
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    I do, but believe me, they won't drain it...

    making the stubs available for the whole community though is precisely what Free-DC would do

  30. #70
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Stubs for Sale
    hahaha

  31. #71
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    seems to be that i'm dead and can't disconnect my proxy.
    Yoyo

  32. #72
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by yoyo View Post
    Seems to be that I'm dead and can't disconnect my proxy.
    yoyo
    You must have Triggered one of our Booby-traps
    Now all the work you Will credited to Free-DC

  33. #73
    Ancient Programmer Paratima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    West Central Florida
    Posts
    3,296
    Quote Originally Posted by Bok View Post
    making the stubs available for the whole community though is precisely what Free-DC would do
    Yeah, Bok!

    Sounds to me like some of y'all need to get out where there's more oxygen.

    BUT ANYWAY, if this whole shebang just holds together for another day, it looks like I'll break into the top 1,000! Not bad for a couple of months work at the end of the project. That's according to Bok's stats, btw. I have never understood the project stats. They seem contradictory. Oh, well. It's been fun.
    HOME: A physical construct for keeping rain off your computers.

  34. #74
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6

    new year - make fresh proxy stats?

    I was thinking if we could "reset" our pproxy-stats by 01-01-2009 or by the start of OGR-26, what ever the others like most.

    What do the others think about it?
    - Would make sense?
    - No way?
    - OGR-27 is early enough?
    - Sick of seeing those 8 pages of xxx@yoyo.rechenkraft.net entries?
    - other reasons why we could/should do it or not?

    As I've said: I was just thinking about it...
    the-mk

  35. #75
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    - Sick of seeing those 8 pages of xxx@yoyo.rechenkraft.net entries?

  36. #76
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,206
    Blog Entries
    13
    yes, it's on my todo list...

    not sure what it involves right now so I haven't started it until I get a few hours of solid time together.. which will be on monday (hopefully).

    I planned to just reset it (saving the output) and then rerun the ppstats on all Ogr26 logs.

    Bok

  37. #77
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    you are my hero
    the-mk

  38. #78
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    during getting new stubs, one of my clients said this:
    [Jan 11 09:48:35 UTC] The perproxy says: OGR-NG is closed.
    [Jan 11 09:48:35 UTC] NetUpdate::All contests are either closed (perproxy) or
    disabled (client)
    [Jan 11 09:48:35 UTC] Network update is currently not available.
    [Jan 11 09:48:35 UTC] *Break* Shutting down...
    [Jan 11 09:48:36 UTC] OGR-NG #d: Discarded 26/11-37-13-17-10
    (project disabled/closed)
    [Jan 11 09:48:36 UTC] OGR-NG #c: Discarded 26/10-9-30-22-45
    (project disabled/closed)
    [Jan 11 09:48:36 UTC] OGR-NG #b: Discarded 26/10-6-9-11-18
    (project disabled/closed)
    [Jan 11 09:48:36 UTC] OGR-NG #a: Discarded 26/11-37-13-18-2
    (project disabled/closed)
    after restarting dnetc it continued crunching... not so cool having a quad core sitting there idle...

    a part of dnetc.ini:
    [networking]
    autofindkeyserver=no
    keyserver=pproxy.free-dc.org
    anyone knows what is going on?
    could it be a bug of "dnetc v2.9102-508-CTR-08122211 for Win32 (WindowsNT 5.1)." (which is prerelease only)?
    the-mk

  39. #79
    strange indeed... I'm not running windows cuda client, linux instead, but the perproxy's handle both clients and I'm not experiencing any problems with my perproxy, nor it's upline link either. So that is a puzzler.

  40. #80
    almost retired the-mk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    KI/OOE/Austria
    Posts
    1,921
    Blog Entries
    6
    mine was also a standard and not a CUDA client...
    the-mk

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •