Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 98

Thread: Dual cores and 939 boards?

  1. #1
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882

    Question Dual cores and 939 boards?

    Soon as I`m mobile again (with or without a wheelchair ) I`m looking at dual core A64`s and non SLI boards (AGP8x). I`m hoping the new ULI chipset ones are on the market by then as I`ve heard good things on them but any reccomendations for socket 939 and A64 would be welcome.
    These (2 or 3 boards) will be replacing my current dual Asus A7M-266D`s which will go on crunching from another location (probably one of the son`s pubs) so I`ll be expanding my farm again.
    Much prefer duals so hoping the dual core will give me at least similar performance though I may look at a dual Xeon (lot cheaper than the Opterons) as well.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  2. #2
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    I wish I did have experience of them, but sadly I have no 939 boards at this time. Still I've never gone wrong with Asus boards, so those are usually the first I look at.

    Bok

  3. #3
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    I have an ABIT AN8 and am very pleased with it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    Just noticed this on Monarch's site.

    AMD 3800+ X2 dual core, 2.0Ghz 512K each cpu
    retail box with HS/fan $399(yikes) available Aug 12

    Now if only the price drops a little after the initial introduction it will be time to upgrade a few systems to dual core goodness

  5. #5
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    There are supposed to be some slower/cheaper versions coming out August and price revisions then but I want 1meg cache 2.4s for around a hundred £.
    Guess I`ll have to wait a while or sell the wife.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  6. #6
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    I think I'll be getting a 4400+ next month and overclocking it Can't resist any longer....

    Bok

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    That 3800+ X2 IS one of the low cost chips coming in Aug and one can only hope that by Sept/Oct the price/pain will be less to the wallet.
    The 4400+ X2 is on my list for the main system upgrade, but at $650+ each for several crunching only systems it would cause coronary wallet failure.
    If only the Intel dual core chips didn't use such massive power, I might be lured to the dark side.

  8. #8
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    I almost bought a dual core P4 this week until I realised the only board they had in the store needed a 24pin PSU and DDR2. Just wasn't worth it to have to buy a whole new machine..

    Bok

  9. #9
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.2GHz 2 x 1MB Socket 939 CPU - Stepping E6 (Retail)
    $625 http://www.allstarshop.com/shop/simprod.asp?pid=11409

    REFURBISHED: ASUS A8N-SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - OEM
    $105 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813131524R

  10. #10
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    I`m looking at one to build now with the 1Mb cache cores but I don`t want to have to go SLI etc as I`m quite happy with my 9800Pro AIW.
    I`m not too interetsted in the Intel dual cores cos they seem much less efficient. Maybe this may change when they bring out the next version based on the notebook chip but I`ve not looked too close at the next offering s from Intel.
    Running 3 dual AMDs just now is beginning to hurt with the way power prices are going up so I may just keep the best 2.4Ghz Barton based one and sell off the other 2 Asus boards as well as an original MSI when I get round to repairing a holed cap on it and maybe also some of the older PIII Xeon stuff (think I`ve got 3 pairs between 550Mhz and 900Mhz on Supermicro/Iwill DCA etc as well as an old Tiger 133 with dual PIII 933Mhz) and see if I can finance a pair of AMD dual cores to cover my present needs.
    I`m also waiting to see when they get the notebook one out as I definitely want a dual core notebook but I guess that`ll wait for now.

    Have to get organised before Xmas though as after my next op I`ll be immobile for a good few months again.

    Guess it`s time for a clearout and maybe figure out how Fleabay works cos I`ve never used it yet.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  11. #11
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Watch for AMD's new pricing lists for Athlon 64 X2s, and the 3400+ Sempron...
    AMD will also cut processor prices on Monday, a spokeswoman said.

    Sempron 3300+ 64-bit $126
    Sempron 3400+ $134
    X2 3800+ $354 (ETA 8/12) Manchester core w/ 512kb L2 cache (2GHz?)
    X2 4200+ $482
    X2 4400+ $537
    X2 4600+ $704
    X2 4800+ $902

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    WOW the 3800+ X2 was released today and the WEB is full of reviews of it.
    A lot of people are waiting for affordable dual core AMD chips I would bet.
    Here are a couple of review sites

    AMDzone
    xbitlabs
    HotHardware

    The TechReport review has some power usage charts that are very nice, that 3800X2 is sweet.
    Techreport

    The xbitlabs review also is very good.
    xbitlabs

    The power usage of the 3800X2 is amazing
    NOOOOooooooo, must...resist...put...credit...card...back...in...wallet.
    Last edited by willebenn; 08-01-2005 at 07:22 AM.

  13. #13
    .... type Card details onto screen so everyone may use them .... type Card details onto screen so everyone may use them .... type Card details onto screen so everyone may use them .... type Card details onto screen so everyone may use them .... type Card details onto screen so everyone may use them .... type Card details onto screen so everyone may use them ....

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    Sorry you got your feathers all ruffled but
    What are you talking about???? Card what card????
    I'm talking about dual core CPU's and some reviews of said cpu's.

  15. #15
    Originally posted by willebenn
    ....

    The power usage of the 3800X2 is amazing
    NOOOOooooooo, must...resist...put...credit...card...back...in...wallet.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    HAH, now I get it.
    I would send them to you in a PM but then would have to shot you and have fried chicken.

  17. #17
    Fixer of Broken Things FoBoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Holden MO
    Posts
    2,137
    Originally posted by Shish
    ...or sell the wife.
    can you provide a tutorial or detailed instructions on how to do that?

    thanks






    j/k
    Use the right tool for the right job!

  18. #18
    dismembered Scoofy12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Between keyboard and chair
    Posts
    608
    speaking of dual-core, anyone want to bet on the FAD output of this beast?
    http://store.sun.com/CMTemplate/CESe...baseSelected=3

    for those not wanting to click through, here are specs:

    Sun Fire V40z Server
    4 AMD Opteron Model 875 (Dual Core) Processors
    16-GB Memory
    2 73-GB 10000 RPM Ultra320 SCSI Disk Drives
    1 DVD-ROM/Floppy Drive
    2 10/100/1000 Ethernet Ports
    1 USB Port
    1 Serial Port
    Lights Out Management (LOM) Software
    Runs Solaris, Linux & Windows Operating Systems

    my prof is thinking of buying one (or one like it from another vendor) for our research... and guess who would likely get to maintain it.... <evil grin>

    say, why dont we have an evil grin/muaahahaha smiley?
    and why are rock and metal the same?
    C-x C-c

  19. #19
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    Originally posted by FoBoT
    can you provide a tutorial or detailed instructions on how to do that?

    thanks






    j/k

    Well you need a lot of gaffer tape and a large trunk plus tickets to Turkey or some Gulf Kingdom as you need an exceptionally wealthy oil billionaire to maintain the credit card feeding habits of the female sex.
    You also need nerves of steel and a lot of luck or a few miracles.
    I was offered a good price in Qatar for the wife but I said to the guy that the state treasury was not liquid enough to support her as they only had 68 tons of gold bar in stock then.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  20. #20
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    speaking of dual-core, anyone want to bet on the FAD output of this beast?
    http://store.sun.com/CMTemplate/CESe...baseSelected=3

    Windows 38.400 Points a day
    Linux 44.200 Points a day

    If you were buying it with the sole intention of crunching FAD then it would be very poor bang for the buck.

    A64's score less than XP's clock for clock.
    I find that a little odd but true none the less.

  21. #21
    Originally posted by Scoofy12
    speaking of dual-core, anyone want to bet on the FAD output of this beast?
    http://store.sun.com/CMTemplate/CESe...baseSelected=3

    for those not wanting to click through, here are specs:

    Sun Fire V40z Server
    4 AMD Opteron Model 875 (Dual Core) Processors
    16-GB Memory
    2 73-GB 10000 RPM Ultra320 SCSI Disk Drives
    1 DVD-ROM/Floppy Drive
    2 10/100/1000 Ethernet Ports
    1 USB Port
    1 Serial Port
    Lights Out Management (LOM) Software
    Runs Solaris, Linux & Windows Operating Systems

    my prof is thinking of buying one (or one like it from another vendor) for our research... and guess who would likely get to maintain it.... <evil grin>

    say, why dont we have an evil grin/muaahahaha smiley?
    and why are rock and metal the same?
    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...9&postcount=55

    Don't know what price you would have been paying for it, but I'm sure you'd save something by buying the same server minus the Sun badge.

    *waves at Shisco*

  22. #22
    dismembered Scoofy12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Between keyboard and chair
    Posts
    608
    @PCZ: yes, you are of course right about bang for the buck. however we're buying it specifically to get a bunch of dual-core processors, and not for FAD

    and yeah, Biggles is also correct; however we have a very nice academic discount from Sun and would pay a lot less than the price listed there. we are looking at other vendors as well, but on the other hand, the Sun box will probably be more reliable than, say a similarly-equipped system from someone i've never heard of. actually, our academic price for Sun is about the same as the one listed above for the same hardware.
    C-x C-c

  23. #23
    dismembered Scoofy12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Between keyboard and chair
    Posts
    608
    actually, bang for the buck is pretty good, if you consider the relevant factors. you can't really compare it to a homebrew system, since it's a server-class machine, with server-class parts (SCSI, PCI-X, etc). so yeah, its way overkill if you just want FAD output (way more memory than needed too). but consider the fact that the performance is about as good as 4 dual-cpu servers (especially since theres no memory bottleneck at a northbridge) which would probably cost at least $5k if you were to buy them separately.academic discount puts that machine at about $20k so its quite comparable, but then add the fact that it only takes 3U of rack space, and only requires one power supply, its a pretty good bang for the buck. assuming you need a real server, of course.
    C-x C-c

  24. #24
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    Originally posted by IronBits
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.2GHz 2 x 1MB Socket 939 CPU - Stepping E6 (Retail)
    $625 http://www.allstarshop.com/shop/simprod.asp?pid=11409

    REFURBISHED: ASUS A8N-SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - OEM
    $105 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813131524R
    Athlon 64 4200+ $529

    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe $164

    ordered, hopefully here by friday

    Bok

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    Way to go, keep us updated.
    Just one comment though, the sli delux had some problems with the north bridge fan, so keep a eye(really an ear) on it.
    What else is going into the system?

  26. #26
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    Don't know yet. Got an EN6800 PCI-E vid card sitting here care of IB 1Gb of PC3500 Ram, a 200Gb SATA drive.

    May make it another cruncher or I might dual boot it and replace one of my desktops..

    Bok

  27. #27
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    Originally posted by willebenn
    Way to go, keep us updated.
    Just one comment though, the sli delux had some problems with the north bridge fan, so keep a eye(really an ear) on it.
    What else is going into the system?
    Yes it does! I ripped it off and put a quiet blower fan on it instead

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    The egg has 3800x2's in stock, retail box $405
    Mwave has them for $388, so there is hope
    Last edited by willebenn; 08-04-2005 at 07:26 AM.

  29. #29
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    Go on, you know you want one.....



    Bok

  30. #30
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    I heard they OC to 2.4GHz quite nicely.

  31. #31
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    We'll soon find out

  32. #32
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    Must resist !!

    UK Prices

  33. #33
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    Resistance is futile with that power consumption...

    I even added a new smilie for you

    Bok

  34. #34
    Target Butt IronBits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Morrisville, NC
    Posts
    8,619
    http://www.buyxg.com/store/item.asp?key=CU-182-102
    X2 4400 $536 !!! This is the 1 meg cache type

  35. #35
    Free-DC Semi-retire gopher_yarrowzoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Santa Ana, CA
    Posts
    3,979
    PCZ yeah - MUST RESIST!!! RESIST.. I suppose I could spring for an upgrade on this proc - No must Resist will all my might..
    Semi-retired from Free-DC...
    I have some time to help.....
    I need a new laptop

  36. #36
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    The 4200+ has arrived along with the Asus A8N-Sli

    I went out and bought a replacement HS/Fan for the EN6800 PCI-E Graphics card, got that on, put the cpu and HS/fan on the mobo, but have just realised that the board needs a 24 pin PSU The only ones I have are powering the dual xeons and they are EPS..

    DASM

    So, it'll have to wait until tomorrow, I'm not driving back down into Raleigh tonight...

    Bok

  37. #37
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    *UPDATE*

    Can't get the thing to post

    Everything spins up ok, all fans going, green light on the mobo, no beeps nothing.

    Tried a different PSU, same thing.

    I imagine it's either shorted somehow, or it's the mobo or the cpu.

    Unfortunately I don't have another 939 board or cpu to test, so I dropped it off at a local computer store who will look at it on monday...



    Bok

  38. #38
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    *UPDATE*

    Store just called to tell me that the CPU actually has a bent pin

    Anyone know whether newegg will replace in this circumstance or AMD ?

    Bok

  39. #39
    Administrator PCZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chertsey Surrey UK
    Posts
    2,428
    That will be a bit tricky.
    Customer damaged CPU goodbye warranty.

    BTW
    Although the board has a 24 pin ATX socket you can use a 20 pin plug.
    There is a bit in the manual about it.

    I use a 20 pin ATX plug with my AN8.

  40. #40
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,120
    Blog Entries
    13
    Yeah,

    unless I can bend the pin back, I think it's going to be an expensive paperweight

    I feel like switching everything off right about now and selling it all

    Bok

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •