Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 81 to 98 of 98

Thread: Dual cores and 939 boards?

  1. #81
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,127
    Blog Entries
    13
    Originally posted by Bok
    Nice,

    even if the mobo is crap (read no overclocking) it's worth it... oops I just ordered one should be here monday!

    So, that's x2 #3

    Bok
    Typical... just got this from Fry's

    Thank you for your order! We apologize but the item(s) you
    ordered is currently out of stock and we are unable to provide a
    definite ship date at this time. However, we continually receive
    new merchandise in our warehouse and we hope to fulfill your
    order within the next thirty days or sooner if possible.

    Bok

  2. #82
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Oh man, that sucks.

    I wonder how many combos they went through? They probably sold out pretty quickly.

    Sorry for getting your hopes up.
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  3. #83
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    115
    Ah man I was going to order one myself. They probably only had a few and they were gone in a flash at that price.

  4. #84
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,127
    Blog Entries
    13
    Well,

    it says they will fulfill the order, so I guess patience helps..

    Bok

  5. #85
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by Bok
    ...so I guess patience helps..
    WTH is that? I want my crap NOW!!!


    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  6. #86
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,127
    Blog Entries
    13
    Patience has paid off, they shipped this yesterday.

    So X2 #3 is on it's way $391 including mobo and shipping is not a bad deal..

    Bok

  7. #87
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Not bad at all.

    Did you see they have a 4200x2 combo for ~$500?
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  8. #88
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Originally posted by Bok
    Patience has paid off, they shipped this yesterday.

    So X2 #3 is on it's way $391 including mobo and shipping is not a bad deal..

    Bok
    So, how does it run? Any overclocking options in the BIOS at all? Any voltage options in the BIOS? If not, is there any software overclocking utilities included with the motherboard? Maybe ClockGen?

    They have these instock right now and I'm thinking of picking one up for the wifey's computer... I'm betting I can upgrade it without her even knowing.
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  9. #89
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,127
    Blog Entries
    13
    Not arrived yet Should be here monday....

    My wife has the 3800+ you played with as her machine now, just finished putting everything on for her today

    I'll let you know when I get the new one up and running on monday.

    Bok

  10. #90
    Christmas Lighterer!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    556
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ahh... back to that patience thingy.

    BTW, that "crappy" 3800x2 I had has gotten a bit better with time. It's running 2.5GHz now with 1.52v... but the temperature has gone all the way up to 66c full-load. I'm getting a better heatsink for it from NewEgg.com but I have a feeling the core isn't making good contact with the IHS. After I try a new heatsink I may do a little surgery and get some Ceramique in there.

    Can't wait to hear how that under $400 setup runs.
    Our Christmas Lights:
    MaineLights.org

  11. #91
    =>Team Joker<= LAURENU2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago IL USA
    Posts
    5,477
    Blog Entries
    1
    Can you have two or more Dual cores running on one motherboard

  12. #92
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,127
    Blog Entries
    13
    Yes, there are opteron mobos that will take two dual core chips I think.

    Bok

  13. #93
    dismembered Scoofy12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Between keyboard and chair
    Posts
    608
    Originally posted by LAURENU2
    Can you have two or more Dual cores running on one motherboard
    yes, for the opterons at least, the first digit of the model number is how many chips you can have on one board. for example Opteron 275 is a dual core allowing 2 chips (4 cores) per board. you can also buy Opteron 875s and have an 8-chip 16-way system. yum!

    i dont know if the dual-core Athlons allow this though, they may have some of their hypertransport links missing or disabled.

    we have a server with 2 opteron 270s (2.0GHz version), and according to my benchmarks, its a screamer on FAD.
    C-x C-c

  14. #94
    I guys,

    Some questions for you folks with dual-core boxes. Its an obvious increase in production going from a 2.2GHz Athlon to a 2.2GHz A64 X2 since you get another core and a chance to have 2 clients running at the same time.

    I'm in a slightly different camp though, I have a dual MP-2600+ system which runs at 2.1GHz.

    Now for me, going from 2x 2.1GHz Athlon to 2x 2.2GHz AMD64 doesn't seem like a huge step up considering the price. I realise that the AM64 has an on-die memory controller and you can use faster dual-channel RAM than my Athlon box but with the AMD friendly DC projects, would such an upgrade actually make any sense?

    Maybe I should consider getting a dual-opteron mobo with one dual-core opteron CPU for now, and get a second dual-core CPU later on to have a 4-way box. Too bad those mobos and Registered RAM is so damn expensive.

    Some of the new upgrades of software I use require SSE2 instructions so I'm blocked with my MP-2600+ box but I don't really want to spend a lot of $$ to upgrade my machine if its not going to be much faster than what I bought a few years ago... ;(

  15. #95
    Administrator Bok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    22,127
    Blog Entries
    13
    As an upgrade, possibly not, though they overclock a lot better. You'd have less power consumption than your dual MP though..

    Relegate the dual-MP to be a cruncher only

    Bok

  16. #96
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    Likely get 2.4/2.5Ghz out of the x2 plus it`s better memory controller is a benefit on some projects but main thing for me is going from 3 dual Bartons (1x2.2, 2x2.4) is about half the power consumption and that counts for a lot in these days of skyrocketing energy prices.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


  17. #97
    I would keep the Dual MP and give it to my wife to use, but that wouldn't save me any power since it would still be on 24/7.

    I guess I will wait and see how long I can last, at that point things will at least be cheaper than today.

  18. #98
    DinkaTronic Shish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gateshead UK
    Posts
    882
    Hmmm.
    Dual core Opties are tempting but XXXXing expensive.
    They also need ECC/REG memory, again, expensive, and boards aren`t too cheap either.
    I`d love to do a couple servers with dual duals but they`re still beyond the pale for now as on the exchange rate calculated by my better half, it`d cost me a new house and probably a holiday bungalow somewhere very expensive for a pair of servers.
    I can sneek a couple x2 3800s in for free and I`ve just been reading some reports which say they`re pretty damn efficient on both 32bit and 64bit stuff.
    Already got 2 MSI K8 Plat boards for next to nowt and 4 sticks of Geil Ultra 4400 just ordered with the first of the x2 3800s next week.
    Anyway, No1 will have to be online soon as one of my dual Bartons has a dodgy clock chip and though it runs happy at 132FSB at 2179ish, when I put it up to 133 straight it jumps up to around 2260 which is too much for the mismatched cores at standard volts and I don`t really want to run them at the other available volts of 1.8v cos they get V.B. HOT. and I like to stay below 50C and keep the noise reasonable.
    Like an ol` 8086, slow but serviceable.
    One advantage of old age...nobody can tell you how much cake you can eat


Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •